Staten Island's Old Names
selected and alphabetized
Morris's Memorial History
of Staten Island
Copyright 1898 and 1900
The following list includes old and largely forgotten names and
nicknames of towns, neighborhoods, ferries, streets, hills, lakes, ponds, swamps, etc. The historian Ira K. Morris
first published this list in 1898 in chapters 37-39 of Morris's Memorial History. Since that time
interpretations of the origins of these names may have changed so it is necessary to look at this document in its
historical context and be aware that there may be factual errors contained here.
There are also a few terms and interpretations which the modern
reader may find offensive. They are presented here simply as historical documentation of the viewpoint of the writer
and a reflection of the culture at the time the document was written over a century ago. They do not represent the
interpretations of The New York Public Library.
Three of the common citations in this list, "Clute" ,"Bayles"
and "Beers", refer to:
Annals of Staten Island, from its discovery to the present
time / by J.J. Clute.
History of Richmond County (Staten Island), New York from
its discovery to the present time / edited by Richard M. Bayles.
J. B. Beers and Company
produced maps and atlases of Staten Island over a period of years.
The New York Public Library owns copies of Clute and Bayles as
well as several of the Beers maps on microfilm.
ACHTER CULL. Corrupted into Arthur Kill. Same as Staten Island Sound. Clute, pp. 16, 234. Bayles, p. 3. A
report of the speech of Pennekek, Sachem in Achter Col (Elizabethtown) is given in Valentine's Manual for 1863. This
Pennekek seems to have been a most important Indian and often figures in the treaties made from 1649 to 1655.
AFRICA OR LITTLE AFRICA, SANDY GROUND, HARRISVILLE. Africa
is a nickname for a negro settlement, near the Rossville Road, Westfield. Harrisville is the official name of the place. " At Harrisville,
W. of Rossville road, b'd N. by lands of P. A. Ash, E. by lands of R. H. or Robert Dixon, S. by lands of Thomas
Jefferson or Leven Purnell and W. by lands of Aaron Close."
ALGERNON. " Map of the
Staten Island North and South Shore Railroad." Filed Jan. 9, 1883, No. 394. The terminal station of this proposed
railroad, at the shore near Eltingville.
ALLEN OR VAN ALLEN TOWN.
The southern part of Kreischerville on Van Allen Hill. Named after the Van Allen family. An effort is being made to
change the name of that part of the Fresh Kills Road which extends from Van Allen Town to Tottenville, to River Side
AMBOY, BILLOPP'S, DOTE'S (DOTY'S) AND BUTLER'S FERRIES.
At Tottenville. " These are to inform all persons that there is a ferry settled from Amboy over to Staten Island,
which is duly attended for the convenience of those that have occasion to pass and re-pass that way. The ferriage is
fourteen pence, Jersey currency, for man and horse, and five pence for a single passenger." Reprinted in Valentine's
Manual, 1862, p. 715, from an old newspaper of July, 1737. Amboy Ferry is on Bew's map, 1781. Bayles, pp. 143, 681,
684. Proceedings Nat. Sci. Association, Vol. III., p. 54. Map, 1797. (See Philadelphia Turnpike.)
ANDROVETTE'S HILL. Near
Kreischerville, on the south side of Gene's Creek.
ANDROVETTEVILLE. A name
for Kreischerville. The place is the residence of many members of the old Staten Island Huguenot family of
Androvette. " Androvettetown is beautifully located near the margin of the river. It contains a mine of wealth both
as regards purity of clay and pretty ladies." Staaten Islander, March 8th, 1856.
ARENTSVILLE. A proposed
name for Tottenville. The Arentsville Times was published for a short time.
AUNT GERTIE'S HILL. A
high sand dune on the old De Hart farm, to the east of Newton's Creek, at Holland's Hook.
BAKER'S FIELD. At
Montgomery and Monroe Avenues, New Brighton. A well known children's playground about 1870.
BARNES' CREEK. A
westerly branch of New Creek, into which the Moravian Brook flows.
BARNES' LEAD. Off South Beach between New Creek and the Elm Tree Light at the foot of New
BARRETT'S POND. A small
pond in the Barrett Nursery grounds at the head of Burger Avenue, West New Brighton.
BARTON'S OR SEAVER'S CREEK.
A northwest branch of New Creek. The brooks from Reed's and Mersereau's Valleys, after joining, flow into this
BASIN, THE. At the foot
of Clinton Street, Stapleton. Walling, 1859. Beers, 1874. A well-known locality. The present docks extend much
further into the bay, and the old Basin has in consequence lost its importance.
BASS CREEK. At Great
Kill. On Map of 1797 and later maps, but now nearly obliterated by the subsidence and washing away of the beach.
This name is also applied to a branch of Main Creek and to a small creek on the Sound between Hanne's and Mark's
BASS CREEK. On the
Sound. Small creek next north of Hanne's Creek.
BASS CREEK. Small creek
between Peter's and Flowk creeks.
BATTLE HILL. A sand dune on the southerly side of Bridge Creek, where it is crossed by
Western Road. One of the numerous skirmishes between the British and the Americans from New Jersey occurred here
during the Revolution. A trench was dug on the creek side of the hill in which the killed were buried. A part of
Battle Hill is now occupied by the dwelling and garden of the Rev. Jas. E. Kenny.
BATTLE ROW. A nickname
for McKeon Street, Stapleton.
BAXTER'S LEDGE. Between
St. George and Robbin's Reef. Chart U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey.
BAY CITY. Map of the
proposed village of Bay City, including Tompkinsville and Stapleton, was filed 15th February, 1859. No. 164.
BAY VIEW POST OFFICE.
At Clifton. Named in the N. Y. State Manuals from 1858 to 1863 inclusive, after which it was discontinued. Joseph
Feeny was postmaster in 1858 and James Kelly for the succeeding five years.
BEACH AVENUE. A
proposed name for New Dorp Lane on map of Oceanville, filed April 19th, 1853. No. 110.
BEEK'S AND CORSEN'S FERRIES.
On May 15, 1747-8, a petition in opposition to De Hart was presented by neighboring property owners. " John Beek and
Jacob Corsen have for some years past, used to carry travellers from their lands to the City of New York and to the
opposite shores of New Jersey * * * ."
BEN WILLIAMS' HAUNTED OR MAGNOLIA SWAMP.
To the west of the Amboy Road, between Oakwood and Giffords. " A very worthy old stage driver, named Ben Williams,
running a line of stages over the route nearly parallel with that which had been selected for locating the railroad,
remarked, on learning that such a road was in contemplation, ' Make a railroad ? Where will they get passengers
from? I have run my stages for five years, and am not half full most of the time.' " Hand-book and Business
Directory of Staten Island," p. 13.
BEND, THE. A bend in
the Shore Road (Richmond Terrace) between Davis and Bement Avenues.
Second creek north of Rossville. The Benedict farm fronts the Fresh Kills Road and extends on to the meadows at
Benedict's Creek. This is said to have been formerly known as Winant's Creek.
BENHAM'S BROOK. Report
Staten Island Improvement Commission, p. 91. Same as Betty Holmes' Brook. Flows into Benham's Creek, a branch of
Richmond Creek. On the Fresh Kills Road between Betty Holmes' or Benham's Brook and Gifford's Lane, is the haunt of
Rooney's ghost. Willows grow on both sides of the road and holes have been cut into their trunks and rails fitted
between the trees, thus making them serve as fence posts. A small stream flows along the road side by the willows,
and Rooney, it is alleged, fell into this little two inch brook and was drowned. His ghost, they say, now prowls up
and down the road.
BENTLEY DOCK ROAD. An
old name for Bentley Road. Tottenville. Beers, 1874, calls it Bentling Road.
BENTLEY. A name for the
post office, at what is now called Tottenville. The N. Y. State Manual mentions Bentley Post Office in 1861; in
1862, Tottenville is named in its place.
BETTY HOLMES' OR TAYLOR'S BROOK.
Rises near Annadale and flows northerly into Benham's Creek, a branch of Richmond Creek.
BEULAH. The sandy point
or dune that extends along one side of Old Place meadow reaching northward nearly to Old Place Creek. Though termed
Beulah in a spirit of irony, to a naturalist it is well named and is anything but desolate. Also known as the Big
BIDDLE GROVE. At Tottenville. Map of the Biddle Grove Property. Filed June 30th, 181870. Beers, 1874.
BIG HUMMOCK, OR BEULAH LAND.
The long sand hill that extends along the meadow at Vroom and Old Place Creeks.
BIG, GREAT OR STORER'S BEDS.
The Great Beds Light is situated southwest of Ward's Point. Chart IT. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey. Fishermen call
the wide and shallow part of the Sound north of Ellis Point, Great Beds, Big Beds or Storer's Beds.
BILLOPP'S POINT. At the
western end of the Island. Faden, 1779. Proceedings, Natural Science Association, Vol. III, p.. 54. Clute, pp. 100,
103. Bayles, p. 3.
BLACK POINT. "116
acres, situated on the northwest side of Staten Island and known by the name of Black Poynt, laid out for John
Tunisson, by Phillip Welles, surveyor." Land Papers, 1680. Probably near Old Place.
BLACK POND AND MOORE'S POND.
On the south side of the Richmond Road, near Moore Street, Richmond. Both have been drained. A bog remains on the
site of Black Pond, where cranberries grow in some abundance.
BLAKE'S OR BROOK'S POND.
Artificial pond near the corner of Prospect Street and Manor Road. Walling, 1859. The dam of this pond gave way
during the great storm of Sept., 1882, and the torrent demolished the brick and stone bridge at Post Avenue. The dam
was not rebuilt.
BLAZING STAR FERRY.
Generally called " Old Blazing Star," was formerly known as Smoking Point. About 1835, it was changed to Rossville,
in honor of Colonel Ross, who located there and built the neat residence now known as the Lyon mansion. Notice of
the change in made in the Richmond County Mirror, 1837. Mentioned in Clute, p. 73. Bayles, 192, 682. On Map, 1797.
BLEAK HOUSE. A nickname
for the Livingston residence, now the railroad station at Livingston. It was so called because of its exposed
BLOOD ROOT VALLEY, BLACK HORSE RAVINE, OR VALLEY OF DEAD
MAN'S CREEK. This deep shaded ravine lies west of Egbert Avenue, about a
quarter of a mile from where it joins the road to Egbertville. It is called by the first of these names because the
Blood Root grows there in abundance; by the second, on account of a tradition that a messenger between the British
forts used to ride in the days of the Revolution through the valley, and by the third, from the circumstance that a
dead man was once found by the brook side.
BLOODGOOD'S SWAMP. Near
Sand Lane, south of Richmond Avenue, Clifton. Wm. Bloodgood is represented as owner of
considerable land by Blood, 1845.
BLOOMING VIEW. The
present Huguenot. Colton, 1846. Dripps, 1850. Walling, 1859. Bayles, p. 436. It is possible that what is sometimes
called the Bloomingdale Road (now Rossville Road) should be Bloomingview Road, but the first mentioned name is the
one said to have been in use.
BLOOMINGDALE ROAD. An
old name for the road leading from Pleasant Plains to Rossville, now known as the Rossville Road. The part nearest
Rossville is also called the Red Road.
BLUFF, THE. At
Tottenville, near the end of the Amboy Road.
BODINE'S POND. Formed
by the damming of Palmer's Run and used for many years by various milling industries. The pond was drained some
years ago and the wells of the Richmond County Water Co. have been sunk in the remaining marsh. Mill Lane (Columbia
Street) and Pond Road (Jewett Avenue) skirted the edges of this pond.
BOGARDUS CORNERS. At
Woodrow, where the Woodrow Road and the Rossville Road meet. Named after Charles Bogardus, Sr.
BOGGY MEADOWS. Hollow
near the Smith Infirmary, through which Brighton Avenue now passes. A name of thirty or forty years ago. Duck Pond
was a feature of the locality.
BOILING SPRING BROOK.
Flows into the Factory Pond. (See Boiling Spring.)
BOYD'S HILL. An old
name for the high ground along the Richmond Road near the head of Wright Street, Stapleton.
BOYLSTED'S SWAMP. Shown
by Bew, 1781, but made to cover so much territory that its position is uncertain. The Haunted or Magnolia Swamp,
however, appears to occupy a portion of the ground.
BRADY'S LITTLE POND. On
the edge of the Downs, a few feet to the southeast of Simonson Avenue. Also called Duck Pond.
BRADY'S POND. Large
artificial pond close to railroad track at Grasmere. It occupies the site of the Haunted Swamp. (See Haunted Swamp
and Brady's Little Pond.)
BRAISTED'S CREEK. A
southerly branch of Old Place Creek, that reaches to that part of Lambert's Lane sometimes called Bloomfield Road.
BRIGHTON HEIGHTS. Same
as Upper Terrace. The " Brighton Heights Dutch Reformed Church " is situated on the corner of Tompkins Avenue and
Fort Place. Clute, p. 260.
BRIGHTON PARK. Placed
between Franklin and York Avenues by Higginson, 1860. This property is commonly spoken of as Hamilton Park_ Beers,
BRIGHTON POINT. Same as
Duxbury's Point. VANDERVENTER'S POINT. Located at or just outside of the Narrows. Faden, 1776 and 1779. Clute, p.
BRISTOL OR NEW BRISTOL.
Old name for Port Richmond. Clute, p. 221. In the Mirror, March 17th, 1838, there is an article on the improvement
at " Mersereau's Ferry or New Bristol." New Bristol is shown by Burr, 1852. Cyrene is said to have been a proposed
name for Port Richmond. The name " Port Richmond " was given to the place by the late Rev. Dr. James Brownlee.
BRITTON'S UPPER POND, BRITTON'S POND OR CLOVE LAKE (MILL
POND), MARTLING'S POND OR RICHMOND LAKE, RESERVOIR OR BROOK'S POND, SCHOENIAN'S POND.
A series of artificial ponds in the Clove Valley represented on most maps of the Island. The last mentioned has
lately been drained.
BROGAN'S ROCK. A large,
fiat rock on the shore south of Pennsylvania Avenue, Clifton. Named after Brogan, a boatman.
BROOK ST. BROOK. Once
flowed to the bay at the WateringPlace-the present Tompkinsville-a pure stream, but now a dirty, garbage
transporting torrent in wet weather, and dry in summer. Mentioned in the Abstract of the Title of Thomas E. Davis to
certain Lands in Castleton, p. 11, (1834) as " the creek which flows through the Marine Hospital ground."
BROWN'S POND. An old name for a small pond northwest of Light House Hill, Prince's Bay. It is now on the
Mt. Loretto grounds and used as an ice pond.
BUCKRAM FIELD. The
field south of the Dye Works at Broadway, West New Brighton. Soldiers were encamped there during the last war.
BUCKWHEAT ISLAND. Small
meadow-island in the Sound north of Dongan's Island. It is near the mouth of Mark's Creek: Clute, p. 8. It is
related that a canal boatman ran ashore on this Island in the night, and in mentioning the accident, said he had
grounded on " Pancake Island."
BUNKER HILL. An old
name for the high bluff at Prince's Bay where the lighthouse now stands. Map, 1797. A rather high conical hill at
Huguenot, west of Arbutus Lake, is now known as Bunker Hill.
BURGER'S HILL. At Burger and Castleton Avenues, West New Brighton. A well known locality
among the boys some years ago, who used to sleighride down Burger's Hill.
BURIAL RIDGE. The knoll near the Billopp House at Tottenville from which many Indian remains have been exhumed.
BURNT HOUSE. On the
edge of the meadow at Great Fresh Kill and southwest of Lake's Meadow Island. The ruins of the Burnt House were
plainly in sight from the Kill, and were for many years a land mark among boatmen., "Burnt House " is shown by
BURNT ISLAND. On the
10th of June, 1778, three boats laden with American soldiers landed between Blazing Star [Rossville] and " Burnt
Island " in the mouth of Fresh Kills, and surprised the British picket. Bayles, p. 202. This island is referred to
several times in the Land Papers as " Ye Island of Meadow against Seadar Poynte." On the map of 1797 it is marked "
Island of Salt Meadow."
BURYING HILL. A small sand knoll southwest of Smoking Point, near Rossville, supposed to have been used as an Indian burying
BUTCHERVILLE. On the Watchogue, Butcherville, or Snake Road, between the Willow Brook and the
Stone Roads. Butcherville Road is mentioned in Adv. State Tax Sale, Dec., 1890.
BUTLER'S COVE. At
Ward's Point near Tottenville.
BUTLER'S POINT. An
occasional name for Ward's Point; originally Billopp's Point.
BUTLER'S POND. South of
the railroad track between Garretson's station and Grant City. Proceedings Nat. Sci. Association, Vol. II., p. 75.
BUTT FIELD. Near the
Morning Star Road, at Red Lake. Well known to the neighbors as a ball ground, and called the Butt Field, because in
one portion of it there are stones and stumps, the latter, however, now mostly removed.
CANAL, THE. Dug from
the Clove Valley Brook to the Factory Pond at West New Brighton. Abandoned in 1894 and has since been filled in.
Constructed over Palmer's Run and connecting Castleton and Northfield. The Shore Road at the Causeway formerly ran
several yards further north, where Bodine's lumber yard is now situated. Walling, 1859. In 1774 when the road from "
Darby Doyle's ferry to Elizabeth Town Point ". was laid out it was stated that it should go " over the Mill Dam as
the Road now runs to the Dutch Church."
CAVE, THE. A hole in
the Serpentine Rock nearly opposite to the point where the Little Clove Road joins the Turnpike. It was dug by
Housman and his negro servant shortly after the Revolution, in their search for gold.
CEDARS, THE. There are
several places known by this name on the Island. One is the hill top near Griswold Avenue, northeast of Silver Lake,
a cleared place among the cedars being used as a ball ground; also the upper part of Bement Avenue that once
extended through cedars. A third is the Jones' property on Prospect Avenue, New Brighton. Blood, 1845. Walling,
1859. Still another is at Tottenville to the east of Ward's Point.
CLOVE, THE. The old
Dutch and the present name of the cleft in the hill through which the Clove Road finds its way into Clove Valley.
Clute, p. 232. Report Staten Island Improvement Commission, p. 45. The Turnpike Road traverses Clove Valley from
northeast to southwest.
COTTAGES, THE. Some
years ago, a number of small dwellings were built near the corner of Lafayette Avenue and the present Second Street,
New Brighton, and the vicinity became known as " The Cottages." Later the neighborhood grew more wealthy, better
dwellings were erected, including the Village Hall, and the district in consequence changed its name to " The
Capital." "New Brighton Cottages " are located on Blood's map, 1845.
COVE, THE. East of
Butler's Cove, on the edge of the " Meadows " and the " Cedars."
CRONK'S OR HOPPING'S HILL.
A prominent knoll on the north side of the Amboy Road. Tottenville.
CAMP HILL. A knoll
southwest of the Black Horse Tavern, near the Amboy Road, and called Camp Hill by the British soldiers during the
Revolution. Proceedings Natural Science Association, Vol. IV., No. 7.
CAMPS. During the
Rebellion the following camps were located on the Island: Washington, Arthur, Vanderbilt, Yates, Lafayette, Leslie,
McClellan, Herndon, Morrison, Low, Ward, Scott, Decker and Sprague.
CANADA HILL. The
prominent hill back of the railroad station at Richmond Valley, Westfield.
CANAVELLO'S POINT. In
Great Kill. West of Long Point. Named after C. A. Canavello.
CANNON'S OR LANDING CREEK.
Lies between Chelsea and Travisville. Andrew Cannon is mentioned as having 161 acres on Long Neck in the Land
Papers, 1686. Abram Cannon's Creek is mentioned by Bayles, p. 129. Named on map 1797. Lately called Chelsea Creek.
CAPE HENLOPEN. Fifty
years ago a small pond on the east side of Van Pelt Avenue, not far from the present Erastina Station, was known as
Cape Henlopen. Gradually the name became changed, so that today the children about the place know the little pond as
Cape Malorca, even sometimes calling it Kate Malorca. At present it contains no cape, but there may have been one in
old days, or perhaps its general shape suggested to the fancy of some seafaring resident of Mariners' Harbor the
name of Cape Henlopen.
CAPO DI MONTE. Old name
for Grimes' Hill. Blood, 1845.
CARROLL TOWN. Five or
six small dwellings in a wooded hollow on Tompkins Avenue, and the present railroad track between Fort Wadsworth and
Arrochar stations. Named after " Mattie " Carroll, a carter.
CASTLETON HEIGHTS. The
high land north of the Moravian Cemetery and east of Egbert Avenue. Walling, 1859. The town of Middletown was
created by an act of the State Legislature in 1860 and was formed from parts of Southfield and Castleton. The hills
once called Castleton Heights are now in Middletown. Thoreau in 1843, used to date his letters at Castleton. He
lived on the Richmond Road. The residence of Alderman J. Y. Cebra, on the Turnpike and Cebra Avenue, was also called
" Castleton Heights." Blood, 1845.
CEDAR BUSH POINT. On
the north side of Richmond Creek and not far from Never Fail Point.
CEDAR GROVE. Near
Oceana, at the foot of New Dorp Lane. Dripps, 1850. Higginson, 1860. Dripps, 1872.
CEDAR HILL. Near
Kreischerville, on the north side of 'Gene's Creek. It is a rather high sand hill covered with cedars.
CEDAR POINT. Often
mentioned in the Land Papers, of which the following is a sample: " 80 acres of land lying upon the northwestside of
Staten Island, with 3 acres of meadow fronting, and 7 acres of meadow at ye west end of ye Island of meadow, against
Seadar Poynte, laid out for Elias Puddington." 1676. The " Island of Meadow " lies at the mouth of Fresh Kills.
CENTERVILLE. Old name
for Castleton Corners. Dripps, 1850. Walling, 1859. Higginson, 1860.
CHARLESTOWN. A name for
CHELSEA HEIGHTS. On the
Turnpike, near Signs Road. Walling, 1859. Beers, 1874.
CHERRY POND. A small
pond between the Swamp and Radcliff's Pond. It is now nearly drained. A cherry tree stands on its margin.
CHESTNUT HILL. The
northern part of Kreischerville (Androvetteville) and traversed by the Fresh Kills Road. The following may refer to
same Chestnut Hill: " Description of a survey of a lot of land containing 81 acres with 8 acres of meadow, situate
in the middle or body of Staten Island, upon a ridge known by the name of Chestnut Hill, laid out for Joseph
Arosmith, by Phillip Wells, surveyor." Land Papers, 1683.
Near the Billogp House, Tottenville.
CHURCH ROAD, PORT RICHMOND PLANK ROAD, STONE ROAD.
Road leading from Port Richmond to New Springville. Known at first as the Church Road, then as the Port Richmond
Plank Road, then as the Stone Road, and now called Richmond Avenue. This old highway is a direct continuation of the
Morning Star Road at Graniteville, and it is to be regretted that when the change of namewas made, that Morning Star
was not preferred. Map of the Port Richmond and Fresh Kills Plank Road. Filed 15th March, 1852. No. 95. " Port
Richmond and Fresh Kills Plank Road Company. The annual election of a Board of Directors of this Company will take
place at the office of the Company at Marshland, on Wednesday, March 5th, at 12 M. By order of the Board of
Directors. Dated, Marshland, Feb'y 6th, 1856. H. I. Seaman, Secretary." Advertisement in Staaten Islander, March
1st, 1856. " B'd N. by Springville Cemetery, E. by Stone road, and S. & W. by land of Cortlandt Orocheron and
others; with house, 8: acres." , Adv. State Tax Sale, Dec., 1890.
Cityville post office was located at Factoryville (West New Brighton) as appears by the following heads of notices
published by the same postmaster: " List of Letters remaining in the City Ville Post Office,
June 30th, 1835." D. V. N. Mersereau, P. M. Free Press, July 11th, 1835. " List
of Letters remaining in the Post Office at Factoryville, Sept. 30th, 1835." D. V. N. Mersereau, P. M. Free Press,
Oct. 10th, 1835. On the 1st of January, 1839, Nathan Barrett, postmaster, published in the Mirror, a list of letters
remaining in the Cityville Post Office. (See North Shore.) Cityville is shown by Burr, 1852.
CLARENDON. Near the
shore at Great Kill. Shown as a locality by Higginson, 1860. Dripps, 1850, gives Clarendon as the residence of E. R.
Bennet; the White House, as the residence of W. H. Vanderbilt; Huguenot Farm, as the residence of Dr. E. Clark;
Mooreland, as the residence of T. W. C. Moore; Wheat Sheaf Farm, as the residence of W. A. Seely; Hay Hill, as the
residence of C. E. Leveridge; and Oakland, as the residence of the landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted. All of
these farms were on the South Side, from New Dorp Lane to the present Eltingville.
CLAY BEDS. At various
places on both sides of Fresh Kills Road at Kreischerville and Green Ridge. There are also clay beds on the Prince's
Bay side of the Island.
CLAY PONDS. Some of the
clay diggings at the brick works near Green Ridge have become filled with water and are locally known as the Clay
CLIFTON AVENUE. A
proposed name for the Finger Board Road on map of Oaklands, filed Dec. 21st, 1857. No. 159.
CLIFTON LAKE. Near New
York Avenue, in the grounds formerly belonging to Mark Birmingham. Beers, 1874.
CLIFTON PARK OR PAGODA.
At the head of Simonson Avenue, Clifton. Shown on map of New-Berry Ville, filed June 3d, 1853. The park is shown by
Walling, 1859. " Simpson Gordon, Florist, &c., Vanderbilt Ave. near the Pagoda," advertises.
CLOVE LAKE SWAMP. In
the Clove Valley and crossed by the Turnpike Road. Often mentioned in connection with the natural history of the
CLOVE VALLEY BROOK.
Flows from the Clove Valley ponds to Palmer's Run at the Mill Pond meadow, West New Brighton.
COD-FISH LANE. Fifth
Street, New Brighton.
COEURAET'S BAY, PORT MAY OR GODYN'S BAY.
What is now known as the Lower Bay. Bayles, p. 47.
COMES' FERRY. In 1747, Solomon Comes having purchased DeHart's farm before any decision upon DeHart's petition had been
reached, renewed this petition: " Petition of Solomon Comes for a ferry between
Staten Island and New York, &c." " Petition that his ferry between Staten Island and New York, may be declared a
public ferry." Land Papers, 1747, 1748. Comes' petition was granted.
COMMON WOODS. An old name for a tract of woodland near the Amboy Road and crossed by what is
now Prince's Bay Road. Mentioned in old deeds.
COMMONS. At Chelsea. "
B'd N. by land of John Simonson, E. and S. by the Commons and W. by Chelsea Road; with house I acre." " B'd N. by
land of Eder Freeland, E. by land of Charles Mersereau, S. by land of N. J. Egbert and W. by the Commons, 5 acres."
Adv. State Tax Sale, Dec. 1890. The open fields near the corner of the Mill Road and New Dorp Lane are locally known
as the Commons. (See Sunset Hill.)
CONCORD DOWNS. This
name has been applied to the large tract of naked, hilly land lying between the Finger Board Road and the Richmond
Road. It was once covered with trees. The same character of country, though wooded, extends to the Old Town Road.
The Downs are now much used by golf players.
[ON THE] CONCORD DOWNS,
which are composed of impervious drift material, there are many ponds and swamps. Fifty-two are shown on Vermeule &
Bien's map. They are nearly all called ponds by the neighbors, but are, as a rule, only ponds by courtesy, most of
them being overgrown with swamp-loving vegetation. The largest of these ponds are here mentioned.
CONNOR'S OR DUER'S POND.
On what was once the Keteltas farm, at Richmond Avenue, Clifton. Beers, 1874. Now filled in.
CORK HILL. A later name
for Vinegar Hill. The Cork Hill boys and the boys from Rocky Hollow used to march against each other some years ago
and indulge in " Wild Irish " stone fights. They were imbued with an excess of local pride.
CORSON'S BROOK. Rises
near the Willow Brook Road, flows -through the Corson farm and empties into Willow Brook near Bull's Head. Beers,
COURSEN AVENUE. An old
name for Vanderbilt Avenue, Clifton. This road passes through what were once the Coursen and Metcalfe farms. Coursen
Avenue is shown on " Map of Property Purchased by the Staten Island Association, Situated at the Narrows, Staten
Island, near New York." Filed March, 1839. No. 22.
COURT HOUSE. Old name
for the railroad station at Oakwood.
CRAVEN'S SHOAL. Off
South Beach, northeast of Hoffman Island. Chart, U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey. Map, Bayles' History.
CREEK OP GRANEES.
"Description of a survey of a lot of land lying upon the south side of Staten Island, with 5 acres of meadow
adjacent to ye creek of Granees, and 5 acres of moore to ye north east of Seadar Poynte, laid out for Theo.
Davison." Land Papers, 1676.
CRIPP'S BACK. A hill crossed by the Annadale Road, between Washington Avenue and Fresh Kills
Road. The following occurs in notice of auction sale in Richmond Republican, January 22, 1831: " All that certain
lot of land called Cripp's Back, formerly owned by Nicholas Journeay, deceased, situate in the town of Westfield, in
the county of Richmond, beginning at the east corner thereof at Cripp's Back Bars, so called."
CROCHERON MILL POND OR BULL'S HEAD POND.
Near Sign's Road at Bull's Head. The mill is no longer in existence.
CROCHERON'S HILL, FORT HILL, OR LOOK-OUT PLACE.
The cedar-covered hill west of Richmond village, where the old British fort is located. Geib's Hill is a later name.
Southwest of Union or New Springville Road, on the edge of Dock Creek meadow. New Springville Brook
flows through this swamp.
CRUSER OR BOILING SPRING.
Near Bement Ave., West New Brighton. Bayles, pp. 6, 116. Proceedings Nat. Sci. Association, Vol. I., p. 62. Boiling
Spring brook flowed into the Factory Pond.
CUCKOLD'S TOWN, CUCKLESTOWNE.
Early name of Richmond, the county seat.
DACOSTA'S FERRY. Placed on Bew's Map, 1781, to the west of the Dutch Church, at what is now Port Richmond.
DADDY'S CREEK. On the Sound. Next creek north of Saw Mill Creek.
DAM-MEADOW CREEK. A
branch of Bridge Creek. The Dam-meadow and Dam-meadow Creek are crossed by the railroad trestle just beyond
Arlington. The meadow is nearly encircled by higher land, covered with a growth of timber, and owing to this
isolation has also been called the Pond-meadow. It is bounded on the southwest by Peggy's Point.
DANIELL'S NECK. "
Description of a survey of 120 acres of land lying upon the west side of Staten Island, to the north of Long Neck,
and to the south of Daniell's Neck, laid out for Jonsia Cronsoon, by Phillip Welles, Surveyor." Land Papers, 1685.
Mentioned again in 1697 in connection with the petition of Richard Merrel; also in Bayles' History, p. 129.
DE HART'S COVE. East of
DeHart's Point. Usually called Johnny DeHart's Cove.
DE HART'S FERRY.
Located 500 to 600 feet east of the New Brighton landing at the foot of Jersey St. In 1747 Jacob de Hart petitioned
Gov. Geo. Clinton for letters patent for a public ferry. He had operated the ferry for some time previous to his
DE HART'S POINT. The
first prominent point east of Bowman's and a part of the old Delart farm. The knoll of upland at the end of the
Shore Road, near Holland's Hook meadows, is said to have also been called DeHart's Point (Bayles, p. 3), but this
seems to be an error.
DEAD MAN'S CREEK. On
Dead Man's or Burnt Island. Empties into Little Fresh Kill.
DEAD MAN'S OR NOAH'S ISLAND.
Same as Burnt Island. These names are used by fishermen of the present day.
DEAD MAN'S OR SNAKE POND.
A small pond on the southerly side of Old Place Road near the bend, and not far from Spirit Point. It is called Dead
Man's Pond, because a murdered peddler was thrown into it many years ago.
DECKER TOWN. A nickname
for Travisville, because so many people by the name of Decker reside in the place.
DECKER'S SWAMP. West of
Beach Avenue, at Richmond Valley, Westfield. The Sand Ridges form the western boundary of this swamp.
DEEP HOLE. In Prince's
Bay. Seventy-four feet deep. Another deep hole is in the Sound near Tottenville, and is forty-eight feet deep. Still
another deep hole is just below where the Fresh Kills bridge crosses Rich mood Creek.
DEHART'S OR BOWMAN'S BROOK.
Bends about the high sand dune or Gerty's Hill at Holland's Hook, and flows into Newton's Creek. Near the bridge
where DeHart's Brook crosses the Shore Road, Sukey Rowland claimed that she was caught by the Devil many years ago
and had her tongue pulled. She was a gossip and her stories with oft telling grew apace, so that her good neighbors
became angry with this monger of tales whose tongue was so very long.
DENYSE'S OR BLACK-FISH ROCK.
Near the shore at Brighton Point (St. George) and about three hundred feet east of Lightning Rock. The place was
well known to fishermen some years ago, but has now been filled in.
DOCK OR NEW SPRINGVILLE CREEK.
Branch of Main, and next considerable creek southeast of Neck Creek. The one in which New Springville dock is
DOCK ROAD. Leading from
New Springville dock to the Stone Road. Not named on the maps. A branch of this road, called Morgan's Road, extends
southward along the edge of the meadow. When Garretson's Road was opened, this part was abandoned and is now a
DONGAN CEDARS OR DONGAN WOODS.
Near Four Corners. Clute, p. 122.
DONGAN KNOLL. The highest point of the Island overlooking Willow Brook valley and beyond. Report Staten Island Improvement
Commission, pp. 63, 88, 89.
DONGAN'S ISLAND. Large
island of meadow in the Sound near Chelsea. On Dripp's map of 1850 it is marked Dongan's Island, but on the later
maps it is corrupted into " Duncan's Island." Called Prall's Island on map in Bayles' History. The " great island of
salt meadow, near the Fresh Kills, and opposite to Long Neck, laid out for John Palmer by Phillip Wells, surveyor,"
is mentioned in the Land Papers in 1687, and is Dongan's Island. The patent to Palmer was approved at a council held
March 31st, 1687, Governor Dongan being present, and on the 16th day of the following April, John Palmer and Sarah,
his wife, conveyed the same territory to Thomas Dongan. Nearly opposite to this Island on the New Jersey shore, are
the " Rotten Meadows."
DOVE AND BELLUE'S FERRY.
" The statement in the petition and the Governor's warrant that there was a public road leading to the ` place on
the eastermost part of Staten Island called Sand Bay, very convenient for travelers and transporting of goods and
the posts,' taken in connection with an ancient map of Staten Island made by S. Bellin in 1764, found in Valentine's
New York City Manual for 1861, page 597, shows quite conclusively that the Staten Island end of this ferry was at
the foot of Cliff Street, just south of the present Quarantine officer's station in Clifton, about a mile below
Vanderbilt or Clifton Landing, and on the line of the present Fingerboard Road, which undoubtedly formed in those
days part of the Old Amboy Road, overwhich the posts traveled on their way from the mainland to the city." Mayor,
&c., of New York against Starin, Sze., Argument for Defendants, p. 6. (See Sand Bay.)
DOVER. Shown by Bellin,
1764, as occupying the site of what has sometimes been called Stony Brook.
DU PUY'S POINT. The
southerly point at the mouth of Peter's Creek.
DUCK CREEK. Next creek
west of Lockman's. Smith, 1836. WOLFE'S BROOK. Flows into Wolfe's Pond, which lies northeast of Seguine's Point.
DUCK LANE. Nautilus
DUCK POND. Near the
corner of the present York and Brighton Avenues, New Brighton. Now filled in.
DUTCH FARMS. Now called
Concord. Maps of Concord were filed in County Clerk's office in 1853 and 1861.
DUXBURY ST. Named after
Ellis Duxbury, and an old name for Tompkins Avenue. " Duxbury Street or road leading from the Quarantine to the
north shore," is mentioned in the Abstract of the Title of Thomas E. Davis to Certain Lands in Castleton, pp. 12,
DUXBURY'S POINT. Where
the present ferry house is located at St. George. Faden, 1776 and 1779. Bew, 1781. Bayles, p. 395. Clute, p. 461.
Abstract of Title, Thos. E. Davis, 1834, pp. 11, 44. Faden and Bew call it " Ducksbury Point"
EAGLE'S NEST POINT. In
an indenture dated February 3rd, 1756, " Between Jacob Bergen of Old Town, Husbandman, Johannes Van Wagenen, Wheel-wright,
Cornelius Kroesen and Daniel Corson Esq all of Staten Island in this County of Richmond and in the Colony of New
York, Surviving Executors of the last Will and Testament of Jacob Bergen late of Staten Island aforesaid in the sd
County of Richmond, Gentleman Deceased, of the one Part and Capt. John Keteltas of the City of New York Merchant, of
the other Part," occurs the following: " And also a little Lot of Salt Meadow at Eagle's Nest Point on the West Side
of Peter Nowee's Land, to the said Lott of Land belonging or appertaining, which said Premisses was formerly
conveyed by the said Mary Brittaine unto her son Nathaniel Brittaine, as by an Instrument in Writing under the hand
and Seal of the said Mary Brittaine unto him the sd Nathaniel Brittaine, Dated the 23 Day of Feby Anno Dom. 1685-6,
Reference being thereunto had may more fully and at large appear." The land belonging to Peter Nowee's or Peter New,
as he was often called, was just west of the southerly reach of the Old Town Road after leaving the present Richmond
Ave. This would fix the location of Eagle's Nest Point on the edge of the meadows below Linden Park and near Old
Town or Pole Creek. The eagle's nest was no doubt built by a fish hawk or sea eagle.
EAST SHORE. From
Brighton Point to the Narrows.
EDSALL'S ISLAND. "
Description of a survey of several small pieces of salt meadow, on the northwest side of Staten Island, near the
Fresh Kills, beginning at the southernmost branch of the Fresh Kills, where it joins the sound; thence southward-to
Jacob de Muffes his creek, including a peninsula of meadow called Edsall's Island, laid out for Christopher Billipp,
by Ro: Fulerton." Land Papers, July 6, 1687.
Described in 1788 as being the western boundary of the town of Southfield; now Gifford's Lane. Bayles, p. 327.
Lies between Kellett's Hill and Egbertville Road, near Egbertville. Richmond or Saw Mill Brook flows through this
EGYPT. A meadow island
between Barnes' and Bartons' Creeks, southwest of Grant City.
ELLINGWOOD ROAD. Many
of the iron mines on Ocean Terrace were situated on the Ellingwood property and the Ellingwood or Iron Mines Road
lead to them from the Little Clove Road. The northern portion of the Ocean Terrace Road of the present maps represents a part of the old Ellingwood
Road. The Douglass Road, the most tortuous private or public highway on the Island, was also partly on the
Ellingwood property. Beers, 1874. Advertisement State Tax Sale, 1890.
ELLIOTT PLACE. An old
name for First Street (Beers, 1874), now Livingston Place, at Livingston.
ELLIOTT'S POND OR THE RINK.
Near the Amboy Road and Elliott Avenue, Tottenville. This was formerly a swamp, but is now a favorite skating place
in winter, hence, one of the names.
ELLIOTTVILE. Foot of
Bard Avenue; the present Livingston. Dripps, 1850. Dripps, 1872. Named after Dr. S. M. Elliott, oculist. On
Walling's map of 1859 there is a bird's eye view of Elliottville.
ELLIS' POINT. First point northwest of Kreischerville.
ELLIS' SWAMP. Crossed by the Fresh Kills Road at Kreischerville. 'Gene's Creek extends into
ELM TREE. A large tree
that stood at the foot of New Dorp Lane, from which the present Elm Tree Light was named. On the map of 1797 is the
following indorsement : " Large Elm tree standing by the shore, a mark for vessels leaving and going from New York
to Amboy, Middletown and Brunswick." Elm Tree, with a picture of a tree, is given both by Smith, 1836, and Dripps,
1850. Old Elm Tree " where the Huguenots landed," is mentioned by Thoreau, letter of July 21st, 1843.
ELMORE'S POND. Near the
corner of Simonson Place and Oder Avenue.
ELTING'S LANDING. At
the present Kreischerville. Dripps, 1850.
ESEK'S CREEK. Branch of Dock Creek; also known as Blake's Creek.
FACTORY CREEK. Next
creek west of Wreck Creek. Extends toward the Linoleum factory.
FACTORYVILLE. West New
Brighton. Map of the Village of Factoryville, owned and laid out by N. Barrett. Town of Castleton, S. I. Filed Aug.
20th, 1836. Factoryville or Castleton is given by Dripps, 1850. The steamboat landing at Factoryville was called
Castleton Landing. Walling, 1859. Higginson, 1860. Bayles, p. 264.
FALSE POND. A small
pond several hundred feet east of Cape Henlopen and near Simonson Avenue. It seems to have been known as Paul's
Pond, after Paul Mersereau.
FERRIES […EAST SHORE]
were Tompkins' & Brown's Steamboat ferry, operated from 1817 to 1827; the Fulton Bank ferry, from 1827 to 1833;
Richmond Turnpike Co.'s ferry, from 1S33 to 1845; C. Vanderbilt's ferry, from 1845 to 1855; Jacob L. Smith's ferry
(lease in his name), from 1856 to 1867. George Law was chief owner in the Smith ferry and sold it to the Staten
Island Rail Road Company in 1863 or 1864, who continued its management until the Staten Island Rapid Transit
Railroad Company got control.
FERRIES […NORTH SHORE]
were the New Brighton Ferry, maintained by Thomas E. Davis, Griswold and Nathan Barrett, who ran the steamboat " New
Brighton " in 1837 or 1838; George Law's ferry from 1859 to 1864; the North Shore Staten Island Ferry Co.,
purchasers of George Law's ferry, 1860 to 1877; New York and Staten Island Steamboat Co., successors to the last
mentioned company, from 1877 to 1884, when the Staten Island Rapid Transit Rail-road Company commenced operations.
FERRY ROAD. An old name
for Shea's Lane. Proceedings Nat. Sci. Association, Vol. III., p. 53.
FERTILE PLAIN. Between
Benedict's Creek and the Fresh Kills Road. Walling, 1859. Named on the various editions of Colton's Road Map of
FEST'S POND. Adjoins
FIDDLER'S GREEN. A
nickname of a small district on Journeay Avenue, not far from Green Ridge. It was the residence of Reynolds, the
FIEDLER'S PARK. On the
Turnpike, near Pavilion Hill. Dripps, 1872.
FIRST, SECOND AND THIRD LANDINGS.
Before the present rapid transit system, Tompkinsville Landing, at the foot of Arietta St., was often called First Landing; Stapleton Landing at the foot of
Canal St., Second Landing, and Clifton Landing, near the foot of Vanderbilt Ave., Vanderbilt's or Third Landing.
FIRST, SECOND AND THIRD POINTS, OR UNCLE IKE'S POINTS.
On the north side of Richmond Creek and southeast of Cedar Bush Point.
FLAG STAFF. Located at
the Narrows on map of 1797. Same as Signal House. Bayles, p. 209. Clute, pp. 20, 113.
FLAT BROOK. Flows north
across Lambert's Lane into Old Place Creek. (See Flat Brook, a branch of Saw Mill or Maggie's Creek.)
FLAT BROOK. Flows
through the low, flat woodland lying between Merrill's Road and the Turnpike into Saw Mill or Maggie's Creek. (See
Flat Brook, a branch of Old Place Creek.)
FLAT CREEK. Small creek
between Mill and Lockman's Creeks. Smith, 1836.
FLAT CREEK. A branch of
Richmond Creek and near Never Fail Point.
FLATS. The best known
are the Stapleton Flats (Bayles, p. 304), located at the foot of Prospect Street. They were made by digging away
Prospect Hill and filling in along the shore. The level ground at Brighton Point (St. George) was also once known as
FLOWK CREEK. Branch of
Main, and next creek southwest of Dock Creek. Mentioned in Richmond Republican, Jan. 24th, 1829. There is also a
creek southeast of Travisville known as Long Neck Flowk or Little Flowk Creek. These creeks were no doubt named
after the fish allied to the flounders, known as the flowk or fluke. The true flowk is a European fish. The present
day fishermen do not know why these two creeks are so called, but the above explanation seems probable.
FOREST HILL ROAD. An
extension of that part of the Willow Brook Road known as the New Road. It is crossed by Jones or Rockland Avenue,
and is called by Beers, 1874, the Port Richmond Road. B'd by Rockland Avenue, E. by land of Judge Gildersleeve, S.
by land formerly of Samuel Decker and W. by Forest Hill Road; with house. 7 acres." Adv. State Tax Sale, Dec. 1890.
FOREST HILL. Lies
parellel to Richmond Hill, being separated by the Mills Dale or Buck's Hollow. The Forest Hill Road extends along
the crest of this hill.
FORK CREEK. A forked
creek on Long Neck that empties into Fresh Kills to the east of Wreck Creek.
FORT HILL. The hill
crossed by Westervelt Avenue, New Brighton, and named from the several British forts located thereon in
Revolutionary time. Clute, p. 93. Mentioned in advertisement State Tax Sale, December 1890. Map of property at Fort
Hill, Staten Island, filed 20th July, 1853. No. 116.
FORT POND. In the Fort
grounds at the Narrows, near the end of Richmond Avenue.
FORTS, OLD. The Dutch
had their block-house at the Narrows; Washington his lookout, from whence came the tidings that the British fleet
was near; the British their earth-works, and lastly the Union its more massive forts. A part of this eminence was
once known as" Little Fort Hill." Many earth-works were thrown up along the shores of the Island, by the British, in
the days of the Revolution. Fifteen of these redoubts have been located, and all but four have disappeared. One is
near Richmond, another on Pavilion Hill, and two others still on Fort Hill overlooking New York Bay.
FOUNTAIN ST. Named
after Garrit Fountain and now known as South Street. Mentioned in the Abstract of the Title of Thomas E. Davis to
Certain Lands in Castleton. Livingston Street and Thompson Street are also mentioned in the Davis abstract, but they
were never laid out.
FOUNTAIN'S POINT. In
Great Kill. Immediately west of the mouth of Lockman's Creek." (See Lockman's Creek.)
FOUR CORNERS IRON MINES.
Just east of Jewett Avenue, near the Turnpike. The abandoned diggings, now filled with water, are known as the "
Iron Mine Ponds."
FOUR CORNERS. Same as Castleton Corners. Castleton Corners Post Office is first mentioned in the N. Y. State Manual for 1872.
FOX AVENUE. An old name
for the present Broadway leading from the Amboy Road, between Annadale and Huguenot, to the shore.
FOX HILL. Report Staten
Island Improvement Commission, pp.88, 90 Southwest of the present Rosebank railroad station. This and Mayer's Hill
are the most prominent of the Concord Downs.
FREEMAN WINANT'S SWAMP.
Southwest of Union or New Springville Road, on the edge of Neck Creek meadow. The Crystal
Water Company has located wells at this point.
FRESH KILLS. Mentioned
in Land Papers, 1676; on map, 1797, and on all later maps.
FRESH KILLS. The
present Green Ridge.
FRESH MEADOW, THE. In
Logan's Spring Valley, north of Silver Lake. Named in the Palmer or Dongan patent, in 1687 (Bayles, p. 115); also in
deed of Dongan's trustees to Hendrick Hendrickson. In the Phillip Welles patent the Fresh Meadow is mentioned as
near a " great rock stone."
FRESH POND. Mentioned
in Palmer patent in 1687. Bayles, p. 115. Same as Silver Lake. Clute, p. 59. Blood, 1845. Dripps, 1850.
FROG POND. Near
Vanderbilt Avenue, in Leavitt's Woods. Now drained.
FRONKEL'S POND. Close
to and southwest of Steuben Street, Concord. Contains an island.
GARRETSON'S BAR. Near
(above) where the old Garretson or Fresh Kills bridge crossed Richmond Creek.
GARRETSON'S OR SHARROTT'S SWAMP.
North of the Finger Board Road, close to where it is crossed by the track of the Staten
GEIB'S MILL POND. At
the old tide mill on Richmond Creek below the hill where 'the British Fort was located. It was formerly known as the
Crocheron Mill Pond. Dripps, 1850. The mill was advertised for sale in the Staaten Islander during 1857.
GENE'S OR TAPPEN'S CREEK.
Northwest of Kreischerville. Named after Eugene Androvette. On the map of 1797 it is called Tappen's Creek, and the
older residents also know it by that name. Asher and Abraham Tappen are mentioned on old grave stones in a homestead
burying ground, just south of the creek.
GLEBE, THE. A farm in
Castleton, of 200 acres, bequeathed to
St. Andrew's church by Ellis Duxbury in 1718. Bayles, pp. 242, 395. This farm included the present St. George
landing (Duxbury's Point), the Light House Department grounds, the old Quarantine and the vicinity.
GLEN, THE. At the
northwest end of Britton's Pond, near where the mill once stood. Report Staten Island Improvement Commission, p. 64.
GOAT HILL. An old name
for Fort Hill. The unfenced portion was formerly used as a goat pasture.
GOOSE PATCH, THE. The
open field between Westervelt Avenue and Jersey Street, New Brighton, now traversed by Crescent Street.
GORE STREET. Now called
Broad Street, Stapleton. Clute, p. 270.
GORE'S BROOK. Rose near the head of Vanderbilt Ave., flowed through the Gore farm and emptied at Stapleton. Once a well known
GOTTSCHALK'S POND. Lies
southwest of DeKalb Street, Concord. Gottschalk is a too difficult name for many of the neighbors, who have
corrupted it into Gunshot.
GOVERNOR'S LOT. "
Description of a survey of 124 acres of land lying at ye New Dorp, on Staten Island formerly called ye Governor's
lot, laid out for Obadiah Holmes, by Ro. Ryder Surveyor." Land Papers, 1677.
GOZEN RYERSON'S FERRY.
At the east end of Staten Island at the entrance to the Kills. Bayles, p. 683. In the minutes of the Common Council
for March 29th, 1785, there is a memorandum stating that the Staten Island ferry was sold for the term of three
years; from May 1st, 1786, to Gozen Ryerson for £20 per annum payable quarterly.
GRAND VIEW PARK ON CASTLETON HEIGHTS.
Along the Todt Hill Road, Middletown. On map filed Dec. 22d, 1869, the Todt Hill Road is called Grand View Avenue,
and Hillside, Crown Point, Park Place and Annfield Place are given as names for sections of the property.
Located in Northfield. Dripps, 1850. Higginson,1860. Graniteville. Walling, 1859.
GREAT KILL MEADOW. At
Great Kill, and mentioned in advertisement in Richmond Republican, May 29th, 1830. The wet land along the edge of
the meadow is locally known as " The Bogs."
GREAT KILL POINT. At
Giffords. Once called Brown's Point and now often spoken of as Crooke's Point. Jos. Brown is given as a resident by
Dripps, 1850. On map, 1797, it is mentioned as a " Beach of Sand."
GREAT KILL SHOAL.
Southeast of Crooke's Point. This is what is called Old Orchard Shoal on the government chart (Great Kill Shoal not
being mentioned), but according to oystermen, &c., the true Old Orchard Shoal is further to the west nearly opposite
Huguenot. The Old Orchard, now washed away by the ever encroaching sea, is said to have been situated just west of
Arbutus Lake. " Kill Shoal " is shown by Smith, 1836.
GREAT KILL. Mentioned
In the Land Papers in 1676; on Map of 1797 and on all later maps.
GREAT PLAIN. Said to
have been the comparatively level tract to the east of the Great Swamp. The following is from a notice of sale at
public aution contained in the Richmond Republican, Feb'y 5th, 1831: " * * all that certain tract or parcel of land,
situate, lying and being in the county of Richmond and state of New York, and in the town of Castleton, at or near a
place formerly called soldier's lots, in the rear of the land patented to Cornelius Corson and others, on the great
GREAT SWAMP DITCH. An
old water way. It formerly conducted water from Willow Brook at Bull's Head to the Butcherville branch of Palmer's
GREAT SWAMP. Extends
from the present Graniteville to New Springville. Mentioned in the patent to Palmer in 1687. Bayles, p. 115. Clute,
GREEN RIDGE AVENUE. A
proposed name for Journeay Avenue, Westfield.
GRIMES' HILL. Rises from the Richmond Road back of Stapleton.
GROOTE RIVER, MANHATTENS RIVER, MONTAIGNE RIVIER, NOORT
RIVER, MAURITS OR MAURITSE RIVER. Earlynames for the North or Hudson River.
Bayles, p. 46; Old map copied in D. T. Valentine's Manual, 1852. The early navigators considered the mouth of the
river to be at the Narrows. The town of Castleton when laid out, was bounded " easterly by Hudson's River." Bayles,
GUN FACTORY ROAD. A
name for the Willow Brook Road. The gun factory was at Willow Brook and is shown by Dripps, 1850.
HALEY'S LANE. An old name for Davis Avenue, West New Brighton.
HALL'S GUN FACTORY POND OR WILLOW BROOK POND.
An artificial pond at Willow Brook. Dripps, 1850. Walling, 1859.
HAMEL'S HOOFDEN. The
Narrows. " These Hoofden, or head-lands. were named after Hendrick Hamel, one of the directors of the West India
Company." Bayles, pp. 47, 83. Mentioned in 1630 in the Indian deed of the Island to Michil Pauw. Manuel of the City
of N. Y., 1869.
HANNE'S OR BALL'S CREEK.
On the Sound. Next creek north of Daddy's.
HARBOR PONDS. In property of Sailors' Snug Harbor. One lies north and one south of Castleton Avenue.
HAUNTED BRIDGE. On road
to Amboy. Bayles, p. 147.
HAUNTED HOUSE. On the John J. Crooke grounds at Giffords. Named on Dripps' map, 1872.
HAUNTED SWAMP. By
placing a dam near the Finger Board Road, and with the aid of the railroad embankment, this swamp has been converted
into Brady's Pond. It received its name from the robberies and murder committed on its edge, on Roguery Hill. (See
HAUNTED WOODS. On Old
Town Road. Bayles, p. 147. There was also a Haunted Woods along the Amboy Road. (See Haunted Swamp.)
HAWTHORNE PLACE. Near
the shore at Red Bank and west of the Prince's Bay light house. Shown as a locality by Dripps, 1850.
HENRY BEDELL'S MILL CREEK.
A branch of Richmond Creek leading to the old Bedell Mill at Marshland, or Green Ridge.
HESSIAN SPRING. In the
valley east of Jersey St., New Brighton. Bayles, p. 82. Clute, p. 32. " Hessian Springs " are located by Blood,
1845, and by Sidney, 1849. In the " Abstract of the Title of Thomas E. Davis to Certain Lands in Castleton," p. 18,
(1834) occurs the following: " * * the said part of the second part, his heirs and assigns shall have * * the spring
called the Hessian Spring, being upon said block or square, number sixty, for the purposes of watering the village
of Tompkinsville and the premises hereby conveyed, or for any other purpose, and forty feet square of land
surrounding and including said spring for the purpose of erecting thereon buildings and machinery for raising said
HET KILL VAN HET CULL.
Old Dutch name for the Kill van Kull, meaning the stream of the bay. Bayles, p. 3. " River Kill Van Kull " is shown
on map New Brighton Association, Surveyed 1835, filed 1836, No. 12. Also called " River Kill Van Kull " in the
Staaten Islander, February 22, 1854.
HICKORY CORNER. Several
old fences met on the highest point just east of the upper part of the present Bard Avenue, where also stood a
hickory tree, and the hill-top, in consequence, was known as Hickory Corner.
Crossed by Merrill Road, near Watchogue.
HOFFMAN ISLAND (UPPER QUARANTINE). SWINBURNE OR DIX ISLAND
(LOWER QUARANTINE). Artificial islands off the shore from South Beach.
HOLLAND'S HOOK VILLAGE.
Corrupted into Hollin's or Howland's Hook. On the shore, west of Mariners' Harbor. Dripps,
1850. Walling, 1859. Clute, pp. 181, 233. " Hollandshook " is mentioned in advertisement in the Richmond Republican,
June 18, 1829, and the Mirror, Sept. 8, 1838.
Occupies a horse-shoe shaped depression in Clove Valley, southwest of Silver Lake.
Third southerly branch of Old Place Creek. Reaches to Beulah Point.
HUDSON'S SPRING. Thirty
years ago a fine spring issued from beneath the stone wall at the corner of the Shore Road and Vanderbilt Avenue,
Clifton. It has now entirely disappeared. The tradition is that Henry Hudson, as he sailed past the Island, sent a
boat ashore to procure water, and that he got it at this spring.
HUGUENOT HEIGHTS. At
the corner of Woodrow Road and Huguenot Avenue. Dripps, 1872.
INDIAN, DECKER'S, RYERS', HILLEKER'S AND MERSEREAU'S
FERRIES. At what is now known as Port Richmond. Clute, pp. 221, 309. Bayles,
pp. 172, 202; 246,560, 684. Decker's Ferry is on Bew's map, 1781, and is mentioned under date of 1777 in Valentine's
Manual, 1863. Ryers' ferry is on map, 1797, and on Eddy's map of 1812. John Ryers ran an opposition to John
Hilleker's ferry. David Mersereau bought out both of these ferries. In the County Clerk's office there is a " Map of
Land at Irvington or Mersereau's ferry, Staten Island," surveyed, 1842 (No. 28).
INDIAN HILL. On the
Amboy Road, where joined by Washington Avenue, between Eltingville and Annadale. In the records of the laying out of
the road leading from Darby Doyle's Ferry to Billopp's Ferry (part of the Richmond Road and all of the Amboy Road)
made in 1774, Indian Hill is mentioned. LaForge's Hill is named as being more to the eastward, probably near the
southerly turn of the Amboy Road at Eltingville, and Moore's Hill is named as near Sandy Brook (See Proceedings
Natural Science Association, Vol. V., p. 14.) " Johnson's Hill and LaForge's Hill, near the church of the
Huguenots," are mentioned in the Staaten Islander, February 25th, 1854. north side of the Amboy Road. Tottenville.
INDIAN SPRING. To the
west of Willow Brook Road, not far from Corson's Brook. Sam and Hannah, the last Indians resident upon the Island,
are said to have lived for some years near this spring.
IPE'S POND. Lies
northeast of Steuben Street, and is the largest of the Swamp-ponds of the Concord Downs.
IRON HILL. Same as Todt
Hill. " Description of a survey of 120 acres of land lying in the vicinity of the Iron Hill, upon Staten Island,
laid out for Peter Lakeman, by Phillip Welles, surveyor." Land Papers, 1685. The " Iron Hills " are mentioned in the
patent to John Palmer of 5,100 acres in 1687. Bayles, p. 115. Clute, pp. 24, 226. (See New Lots at Old Town.)
IRON MINE PONDS. The
abandoned iron mines near Four Corners, now filled with water.
IRON MINES. Located
principally on Ocean Hill, near Ocean Terrace Road, and on Todt Hill near Todt Hill Road.
IRVINGTON. Map of land
at Irrington or Mersereau's Ferry, Staten Island, Filed Aug. 6, 1842. No. 28.
ISLAND CREEK. On Long Neck near Price's Meadow Island. Empties into Main Creek east of Marsh Creek. Peter's Creek on Karle's
Neck is nearly opposite. Sometimes called Shrimp Creek.
ISLAND POND. On Fox
Hill. A small pond.
JACK'S OR BUTLER'S CREEK. Butler's Brook flows from Brown's Pond, near Light House Hill, into Butler's Creek at
Prince'sBay. In recent years the creek has been improved and is now usually spoken of as the Canal. Black Jack Ward,
a negro in the service of the Butler family for many years, once lived near by and the creek at that time generally
bore his name.
JACKSON PARK. Corner of Franklin Avenue and Third Street, New Brighton.
JACKSON'S HILL. A
recent name for the prominent hill rising from the Richmond Road opposite Osgood Avenue, Stapleton, and at present
used as a common. It is a part of Grimes' Hill.
JACKSONVILLE. This was a name for Holland's Hook. It was the intention of a syndicate in 1828 to make it a summer resort. The
project was killed by the panic that followed that period.
JAN. TUNISSEN'S VALLEY.
" Description of a survey of Jan. Tunissen's valley on the Kill van Kull (Staten Island)
amounting to 24 acres. Pieter Cortelyou, surveyor." Not dated but placed in 1696 of the Land Papers. Probably in the
vicinity of Holland's Hook v which is situated on the old Tunissen grant.
JERSEY ST. BROOK. Once
the overflow of the Hessian Spring but now in the same condition as the Brook St. Brook. (See Hessian Spring.)
JESSE BEDELL'S OR WAGNER'S CREEK.
First southerly branch of Fresh Kills, after passing Burnt Island. It bends about Lake's Meadow Island.
JOHN BEDELL'S OR SIMONSON'S CREEK.
Empties into the north side of Richmond Creek opposite Benham's Creek.
JOHNSON'S POND. Near
Tyson's Lane, New Dorp. Once a considerable pond, but drained some years ago. Named after Anthony Johnson. Dripps,
1850. Walling, 1859. Dripps, 1872.
Abraham Jones owned a farm on what is now known as Jones' Road or Rockland Avenue, and his nearest neighbor lived
over on the Willow Brook Road. A path led northeast through the woods to this neighbor's dwelling, and when the
families visited in the evening, they were obliged to carry fire-brands to frighten the wolves. Not far from the
path, Jones dug a wolf-pit, that may still be seen. In order to entrap the wolves, the pit was covered with dead
sticks and leaves, and a piece of meat suspended from an overhanging sapling. The animals would jump for this, and
fall through the frail support into the deep hole. The local history states " that in 1698 Thomas Stillwell received
fifteen shillings for a wolf, and Cornelius Tysen received one pound for a wolf's head. Different bounties were
offered for animals of different sex and age, as was the custom in many counties of the state." Bayles, p. 31. Many
years ago, the land was cleared about the Wolf-pit, but it is now covered with woods again and is known on the farm
as the " Wolf-pit. Section." There is also the " Big White-wood Section," and the " Fox-hole Section," this last
being so named because in old time foxes were in the habit of digging their burrows in this particular part of the
JUMPING-OFF PLACE. A nickname for the end of the Shore Road at the Bluff, at Holland's Hook.
KARLE'S NECK. " Description of a survey of 80 acres of land at ye head of ye meadows between Long Neck and Karle's Neck, upon
Staten Island, with 6 acres of salt meadow and 4 acres of fresh in ye cove to the north of Seadar Poynte, laid out
for Jon. Bissell." Land Papers, 1676. St. Andrew's Church is described as being on Karle's Neck, at the head of
Fresh Kills, in the Land Papers, 1713, and in Bayles' History, p. 395. " Charle's Neck " is mentioned in Bayles'
History, p. 129, and is shown by Smith, 1836. Karle's Neck was some-times called Short Neck to distinguish it from
KARLE'S OR CHARLES' NECK SETTLEMENT.
The present New Springville. Bayles, p. 579. Smith, 1836.
KELLETT'S HILL. Near
Egbertville Ravine and the old saw mill pond. Named after J. P. Kellett, the proprietor of the Richmond Hill hotel.
Proceedings Natural Science Association, Vol. I., p. 62.
KETCHUM MILL POND. West
of Richmond. Mill no longer in existence. Clute, p. 101. Often mentioned in Rep't Staten Is. Imp. Com. Another mill
pond was once situated further up Ketchum's Brook, on the southeast side of Forest Hill Road. The remains of the old
dam may still be seen.
KETCHUM'S MILL POND BROOK.
Rises in the Mills Dale near the old road to Richmond, now sometimes called Egbertville Road, and flows through the
Ketchum Mill Pond into Richmond Creek. This brook and its branches have been only slightly affected by artificial
changes and are among the most rural on the Island.
KETCHUM'S OR CEMETERY HILL.
The last hill in the range that commences at Brighton Point and terminates suddenly at Richmond Creek. A better view
may be had of the meadows from the top of this hill than from Look-Out Place. For over a hundred years the crown of
the hill has been used as a family burying ground.
KILLI-FISH BROOK. Flows
from Mt. Tobey, the Lyster Pond, &c., and empties into Slaght's Creek at Valley Forge. Another branch rises more to
Situated off Elm Tree Light. Known to fishermen by this name because the King-fish or Barb sometimes occurs there in
KING'S HIGHWAY. The
Richmond Road. Bayles, p. 223. " Petition of Jacob Galliott and others, of Richmond county, for a warrant to lay out
a cartway from their lands to the King's Highway." Land Papers, 1707. This road is described in 1801 as " main road
leading from Van Duzer's Ferry." " Richmond Road to Quarantine " is shown on map of property purchased by the Staten
Island Association, filed in March, 1839, No. 22; also on other maps of about the same date. " Road from Richmond
Village to the Quarantine " is shown on map of the John Britton farm, filed Oct. 29th, 1853, No. 125.
KITE OR HEIFER HILL.
That part of Forest Hill over which the road from New Springville to Richmond (Poverty Lane) passes.
KLEINE KILL. An old
name for Marshland or Green Ridge, meaning the Little River. Proceedings Nat. Sci. Association, Vol. III., p. 53.
KNYPHAUSEN HEIGHTS. The
high land above Tompkins Avenue. General Knyphausen's Hessians were encamped around the British fort situated on
these heights, the remains of which may still be seen.
KREISCHER'S HILL. At
Kreischerville, opposite the brick works.
In the Sound off Kreischerville.
KRUSE ROAD. That part
of the Willow Brook Road between the Watchogue Road and the Church Road or Richmond Avenue, Port Richmond. It is one
of the oldest roads on the Island and is on the map of 1797. Beers, 1874, calls it the " Kruse or Wilson Brook
LA TOURETTE'S CANAL.
Extends from Peter's Creek northeastward to the upland.
LA TOURETTE'S POND OR ARBUTUS LAKE.
At the shore below Huguenot station on the old La Tourette farm. The Trailing Arbutus or May flower used to grow in
considerable abundance in the vicinity and gave to the pond its latter-day name, which is sometimes corrupted into
Brutus Lake. A bulkhead recently built has caused the sand to form at the shore end of this pond and prevents the
salt water from entering it.
Mentioned in advertisement, Staaten Islander, September 9th, 1857. The rise in the meadow to the east of Burnt or
Dead Man's Island and probably the same as Edsall's Island. Thoreau in a letter written on Staten Island, July 21,
1843, says: " Last Sunday I walked over to Lake Island Farm, eight or nine miles from here, where Moses Prichard
lived, and found the present occupant, one Mr. Davenport, formerly from Massachusetts, with three or four men to
help him, raising sweet potatoes and tomatoes by the acre." Possibly the " Lake Island Farm " of Thoreau is not
Lake's or Edsall's Island.
LAKE'S MILL POND. A
tide mill pond at Great Kill that used to operate the old Lake mill, which has lately fallen into ruins.
LAMBERT'S LANE. Leads
from the Stone Road to Watchogue and is named on most maps of the Island. It was called after Lambert Merrill, a
carpenter by trade, whose housekeeper, Nancy Juson, according to the firm belief of the neighbors, was a veritable
LAMBERT'S, COLLYER'S OR BOWMAN'S POINT.
The point of Staten Island nearest to Elizabethport, New Jersey. Called Lambert's Point during the Revolution and
later Collyer's Point. Map of property at " Bowman's Point " was made in 1869. In the Richmond Republican of October
9th, 1830, there is an advertisement of an auction sale of a piece of land, " Bounded northerly by the road leading
from Mersereau's Ferry to the Old Point."
LAWN, THE. A local name
for the large field at the corner of Vanderbilt Avenue and Bay Street, Stapleton. Sometimes called Vanderbilt's
Lawn, after its owner.
LAWRENCE OR BRIDGE CREEK.
Said to have been also called Back Creek because it lay back of some of the farms that fronted on the North Shore.
It empties into the Kill Van Kull at Bowman's Point. The brook that flows into the south branch of this creek is
sometimes called Stony Brook. Bridge Creek is mentioned in connection with the war of the Revolution as follows: "
It is imagined that another expedition is determined upon against Staten Island under command of Mr. Philemon
Dickenson, who has assembled near four hundred men about Elizabeth Town; boats and scows are also prepared, with a
floating raft, to cross Bridge Creek, and thereby secure a retreat to the point." Bayles, p. 196. Also mentioned in
Adv. State Tax Sale, Dec., 1890.
LAWRENCE ST. An old
name for Stuyvesant Place and part of Richmond Terrace. This street and Daniel Street, which occupied nearly the
same ground as the present Wall Street, are mentioned in the Davis abstract, but the names were changed on the New
Brighton Association Map, filed in 1836.
LAW'S REEF. The name
applied to what remains of the old stone dock to the west of the present St. George Ferry slips, and at one time
owned by George Law.
LEAVITT'S POND. Between
Vanderbilt and Simonson Avenues. On what was once the Geo. Leavitt property.
LEMON CREEK POST OFFICE.
Mentioned in the N. Y. State Manual for 1859. In 1861 Prince's Bay Post Office had taken
LEMON OR SEGUINE'S CREEK.
Empties into Prince's Bay to the west of Seguine's Point. Seguine's Creek is mentioned in
the Richmond Republican, April 24th, 1830.
LEWIS' BEDS. Oyster
beds in Lewis' or Benham's Creek. PERINE'S HOLE. A deep place in Perine's Creek, a branch of New Creek.
LEWIS' CREEK. An old name for Benham's Creek.
LIBERTY DITCH. Cannon's
Creek, like most meadow creeks, contains several lengthy twists or turns, and in 1860, or thereabouts, when a piece
of the meadow was purchased for manufacturing purposes, a short cut was made across one of these loops, which, from
the spirit of the times, received the name of Liberty Ditch.
LIGHTNING ROCK. A
considerable mass of outcropping Tremolite on the shore near to where the present St. George FerTy slips are
located. The rock was much worn by the waves, a prominent crevice ran across it, and a large portion had been broken
off, probably by glacial action, and transported several yards southward. It was the popular tradition that these
changes had been brought about by lightning, hence the name.
LILY OR LULING'S POND.
On the westerly side of the railroad track between Arrochar and Fort Wadsworth stations.
LINDEN PARK. Between
the Old Town Road and Garretsons. The old Burgher farm.
LINDEN PARK SWAMP.
Below Linden Park, near Garretson's Station. Branches of Perine's Creek drain this swamp. Often mentioned as a
locality in connection with the flora of the Island.
LITTLE AND GREAT FRESH KILL.
Fresh Kills divides at Burnt Island, which lies at its mouth, the northern arm being known
as Little Fresh Kill, and the southern as Great Fresh Kill.
LITTLE CLOVE VALLEY.
Reaching southward from the Little Clove Road.
LITTLE FLOWK OR JONES' CREEK.
Branch of Main Creek; the one that bends toward Price's Meadow Island from the northeast.
LITTLE FORT HILL. Near
the site of the present fort that commands the Narrows. Bayles, p. 259.
LITTLE HUMMOCK. A
smaller dune to the southeast of the Big Hummock.
LITTLE NORTH RIVER. A
name for Lemon Creek which lies north and south. It is mentioned in a deed as the west boundary of the old Seguine
farm. The Prince's Bay Road leading to Seguine's Point, was once the private lane to the homestead. June 1st, 1895,
a large number of tomcod and smelt from the United States fish hatchery were placed in the " Little North river at
LITTLE PLAINS. "
Petition of Samuel Blachford, praying that a lot of land lying upon ye little plains, adjoining to ye soldiers lots
on Staten Island, may be laid out for him." Land Papers, 1683.
LITTLE POND ROAD. Same
as Little Clove Road. Dripps, 1872.
LOCKMAN'S CREEK. Next
large creek west of Mill Creek. A small creek near by, rarely shown on maps, is called Flat Creek. Lackaman's Creek
is shown by Smith, 1836.
LOG BROOK. Flows
westerly across South Avenue into Old Place Creek. A few logs once laid across the brook and served as a bridge,
hence the name.
LOG POND. Near Old
Place at South Avenue. Log Brook flowed through this small pond which is now drained.
LOGAN'S SPRING OR HARBOR BROOK.
Flows into the Kill Van Kull at Livingston. (See Logan's Spring.) " The stream known as
Harbor Brook, on Henderson Avenue, at the premises of the Sailors' Snug Harbor," is mentioned in. an advertisement
in N. Y. Evening Sun, September 12th, 1895.
LOGAN'S SPRING SWAMP.
Near Silver Lake. (See Logan's Spring.)
LOGAN'S SPRING. Near
the northerly side of Silver Lake, in the adjoining valley. Named after Logan, an Indian. Clute, p. 6. Blood, 1845.
Sidney, 1849. Logan's Spring brook flows through the Dike to the Kill Van Kull at Livingston.
LONDON BRIDGE. A name
for Bull's Head during the Revolution. Clute, p. 231. Also mentioned in notice of Sheriff's Sale in Staaten
Islander, Jan. 25, 1854.
LONG AND SHORT POINTS.
Parts of the irregularly shaped peninsula of meadow lying between Dock and Flowk Creeks on Karle's Neck. Long Point
is the farthest west.
LONG CREPLEBUSH. "
Petition of John Shadwell, of the county of Richmond, praying that 8 or 10 acres of land, lying between his lot and
the long creplebush, in said county, may be surveyed in order that he may obtain a patent for the same." Land
Papers, 1702. There was a Cripple Bush on New York Island, as appears from the following: " One Lott of Ground Lying
and being near the Crupple Bush." New York Weekly Journal, December, 1734. " Bestevaer's Cripple Bush, was the Dutch
name for what was afterward called Beekman's Swamp, covered by the present Ferry, Gold and adjacent streets." "
Bestevaar's Cripplebush, or the Old Man's Swamp." Valentine's Manual, p. 469, 1856; p. 545, 1860 and 1864.
LONG DIKE. Extending
from Bowman's Point toward the Corner Stake Light at the mouth of Newark Bay.
LONG, LONG LANE THAT HAS NO TURNING, THE.
A nick-name for Merrill Road, Watchogue, that for nearly a mile is perfectly straight.
LONG NECK. Separated
from Karle's Neck by Main Creek. The land on which Linoleumville now stands. Mentioned in the Land Papers in draught
of patent granted to John Garretsen in 1675.
LONG NECK ROAD. Rept.
Staten Is. Imp. Cora., p. 73. Same as Richmond Turnpike.
LONG NECK VILLAGE.
Walling, 1859. Now Linoleumville and Travisville. Long Neck Post Office is named in the N. Y. State Manual for many
years, but was discontinued in 1866.
LONG POINT. In Great
Kill. West of Fountain's Point and immediately west of the mouth of Duck Creek. (See Duck Creek.)
LONG POND. A very small
pond north of Cape Henlopen. It has been known by this name for many years.
LONG POND. To the east
of the Three Musk-rat Ponds. Lately enlarged.
LOUSE ISLAND. When the
Quarantine was at Tompkinsville the washing for the immigrants was carried on in the "wash house" on Louse Island.
In building the American Docks, Louse Island and the vicinity were filled in. The island is shown but not named on
Blood's map, 1845.
LOVERS' LANE. Tree-shaded Pendleton Avenue; also, First Street, New Brighton.
LOWER COVE. Located
near the foot of Lafayette Avenue, New Brighton. An old name.
LOWER TERRACE. Below
the Upper Terrace. A part of Richmond Terrace or Shore Road.
LOWVILLE. At Cedar
Street and Granite Street, Elm Park, Northfield. Named after Daniel Low. Map filed June 28th, 1849. No. 63.
LYSTER'S OR LAFORGE'S POND.
Partly on the Lyster and partly on the LaForge farm, near Mt. Tobey, at Valley Forge. Now nearly drained. The outlet
of this pond is a branch of Killifish Brook.
MAIN CREEK. North
branch of Fresh Kills.
MANOR, THE. Same as
Cassiltown, Castle Town, or the later corrupted Castleton. The Manor of Castletown was the name of Gov. Dongan's
country seat on the Island, and was called after the place of residence of the family in County Kildare, Ireland.
The present Manor Road leads through a portion of the old Manor possessions. Bayles, pp. 95, 118, 261, 326.
MANOR DALE. That
portion of the Valley of Willow Brook near the Manor Road. Report Staten Island Improvement Commission, pp. 64, 88.
MANOR OF BENTLEY. The
grant of 1,163 acres of land at the southwest end of the Island, now Tottenville, was named after Christopher
Billopp's vessel, the " Bentley," in which he sailed around Staten Island in less than twenty-four hours, and thus
secured it to the Duke of York. Bayles, p. 102. (See Bentley Post Office and Arentsville.)
MANOR ROAD AND EGBERT AVENUE.
Only a part of what is now known as the Manor Road, which derives its name from the Dongan
Manor, is on the map of 1797. It is said to have been laid out at an early period. Bayles, p. 118. This road runs
southerly from West New Brighton through Castleton Corners to its junction with the road from Todt Hill, then
westerly to Bradley's Road and then southerly again to the Egbertville Road. Beers, 1874. That portion from
Bradley's Road to the Richmond Road (including the Egbertville or Saw Mill Road) is the old 1797 highway, and is
some-times referred to as the Manor Road. (See Richmond Plank Road from Vanderbilt's Landing to Rossville.) That
portion from Bradley's Road to the Egbertville or Saw Mill Road, is occasionally called Rosewood Avenue (Higginson,
1860), and also the Poor House Road. The Manor Road is shown on the map of Rose Hill Park (Unkart property) filed
20th of October, 1870. No. 294. Egbert Avenue is a direct southerly continuation of that section of the Manor Road
leading directly from Castleton Corners, and is therefore often, in error, called the Manor Road. It, however, forks
from the Manor where the latter turns to the west and it joins the Egbertville Road mentioned above, about a mile
further to the east. Dripps, 1850, calls it Egbert's Avenue. It is Egbert Avenue of Walling, 1859, and Beers, 1874.
MARK'S CREEK. First large creek south of Old Place Creek. Empties near Buckwheat Island. Mentioned in advertisement State Tax
MARSHALL'S CREEK. Next
considerable creek to the east of Fork Creek. Sometimes called Marsh Creek.
MARSHLAND OR MARSHFIELD.
Same as Fresh Kills or Green Ridge. Marshland Post Office is mentioned in the N. Y. State Manual for 1874; in 1876
Green Ridge had taken its place.
MARTLING DALE. A part
of the Little Clove Valley. Report Staten Island Improvement Commission, pp. 64, 88.
MAYER'S HILL. The
Finger Board Road bends about this bill. Beers, 1874.
MEADOWS, THE. A local name for the low land between Ward's Point and the Cove, Westfield.
MEANS' HOLLOW. A low
piece of ground in Rossville near the corner of Shea's Lane and Fresh Kills Road through which flows a small brook.
MEISSNER'S HILL. A
later name for Kellett's Hill, which is now' traversed by Meissner Avenue. Named after Frederick Meissner. Kellett's
or Meissner's Hill is really only a part of Richmond Hill.
MERRILL TOWN. An old name for Bloomfield. (Watchogue.)
MERRY'S WELL. Capt. Merry lived on Beach Street, Stapleton, a number of years ago, and on his grounds, near the road, there
was a very fine old well from which the neighbors were in the habit: of drawing water.
MERSEREAU'S POINT. An
old name for the point at what is now Port Richmond, to which Mersereau's Ferry ran. Minutes of the Common Council,
July 21, 1823.
MERSEREAU'S, CHARLES WOOD'S OR OLD PLACE MILL POND.
This pond was constructed in 1804, by David Mersereau, who built the tide mill on Old Place Creek. Bayles, p. 559.
Charles Wood's Mill Pond is mentioned in the Richmond Republican, February 28th, 1829.
MIDDLE GROUND. The
shallow area south of the channel at Prince's Bay. So called by oystermen, &c.
MILL BROOK. Same as
Palmer's Run. Land Papers, 1680. Now called Bodine's Creek.
MILL CREEK SHOALS. In
the Sound at Mill Creek, Tottenville.
MILL CREEK. At the head
of Great Kill. Smith, 1836. Dripps, 1872. The creek on which Lake's tide mill is located. Its upper part is called
MILL CREEK. Extends
from Richmond Valley Station to Staten Island Sound. Map in Bayles' History.
MILL LANE. The present
Columbia Street. Bayles, pp. 5, 207. Clute, p. 97.
MILL POND AT GREEN RIDGE.
An arm of Richmond Creek dammed in order to form a head of water for the old Henry Bedell tide mill. Beers, 1874.
Bedell's Mill Pond was once called Seguine's Pond, advertisement Richmond Republican, October 4th, 1828; also
Micheau's Pond, advertisement Staaten Islander, September 9th, 1857.
MILLER'S OR HOBLES'S POND.
Near Steuben Street, Concord.
MILLS DALE OR BUCK'S HOLLOW.
Extending from near the old mill at Egbertville along the northerly side of Richmond Hill to Ketchum's Mill pond.
Rept. Staten Is. Imp. Com., pp. 64, 88.
MINERAL SPRING. At
Freeman Winant's Swamp, near Union or Springville Road. One of the springs that flow into the small pond made by the
Crystal Water Co. It owes its name to the considerable amount of iron found in the water, which at one time was
taken as a cure for rheumatism.
MONEE'S POINT. On Smith's map of 1836 this name is placed opposite the shore lying between Arbutus Lake and Seguine's Pond. On
the very small map of the Island, published by Eddy, 1812, the name is also given. It is probably a corruption of
the family name of ranee.
MOORE'S OR KETELTAS' BROOK.
Rises in the woods near Journeay Road and flows across the Fresh Kills Road through Owl's
Hollow into Wagner's Creek.
MORAVIAN SPRING. In the Moravian Cemetery and now covered by the artificial lake. Proceedings Nat. Sci. Association,
Vol. IV., p. 52.
MORGAN'S CORNER. The
present Egbertville was known by that name in 1838, according to an advertisement in a local paper. The hamlet known
as Morganville today is located on the Manor Road about half a mile north of Egbertville.
MORGAN'S ROAD. Previous
to the construction of Garretson's Road or South Broadway, there was an old road leading along the edge of the
meadow on the westerly side of Karle's Neck. Several of the farms were occupied at that time by members of the
Morgan family, and we have called it Morgan's Road. When the Plank Road was built the old one fell into disuse, and
is now grass grown, and, as a highway, neglected.
MO-TA-NUCKE, MO-NOCK-NONG, AQUE-HON-GA, EGH-QUAOUS.
" Early names of Staten Island, the last two meaning, High Sandy Banks." Indian names
in New York, by W. M. Beauchamp. " Schoolcraft interprets ` Aquehonga Manacknong,' as far as the place of bad woods.
The meaning of ` Eghquahous' is also interpreted the place of bad woods." Bayles, p. 1. Clute, p. 8. " Sujnen " is
given as a name for Staten Island in Valentine's Manual, 1852, p. 401.
MOUNT MARION. Same as Ward's Hill. Blood, 1845. FIEDLER'S HILL. Rises from the Turnpike west of Pavilion Hill. TURNEY'S HILL.
At the present Hill Street, between Jersey Street and York Avenue, New Brighton.
MOUNT TOBEY. The hill
on the westerly side of Swaim's or La-Forge's Lane at Valley Forge, Westfield.
MUD LANE. St. Paul's
Avenue, Edgewater. Bayles, p. 420. St. Paul's Avenue was once called Richmond Street. Blood, 1845.
MUDDY DITCH. Near the Mill Road at Oakwood. " B'n N. by Mill road, E. by land of A. S. or A. V. Connor or A. O'Connor, S. by
beach and bay of New York and W. by Muddy Ditch. 8 acres." Advertisement, State Tax Sale, Dec., 1890.
NANNY-BERRY OR SUNSET HILL.
A hill nearly covered with black-haw bushes and cat-briers, near where Bard Avenue meets
the Clove Road. The open ground on this hill is locally known as the Common.
NARROWS FERRY. "
Silvanus Seamans, who keeps the upper ferry, at the Narrows, on Staten Island side, having good boats for that
purpose, proposes, besides the proper attendance at the said ferry, constantly to keep a passage boat to go from
thence to the city of New York, which will certainly set out every Tuesday and Friday, and return the same day if
possible, and at any other time, if passage or freight presents. All gentlemen and others may depend on the best
usage and care, either of themselves, horses or goods of any kind; he also keeps very good entertainment for men and
horses. On either of those days the boat may be found in New York by inquiring at Mr. John Cregier's, a corner house
at the Old Slip." N. Y. Weekly Post Boy, July, 1745. (Reprinted in Valentine's Manual, 1862.) The " Narrows Ferry "
is marked on Faden's map, 1776. Frederick Simonson owned a ferry at the Narrows in 1777. Bayles, pp. 143, 171, 681,
684. " This is to inform the public that John Lane now keeps the ferry at Yellow Hook on Long Island, six miles
below New York Ferry, and has provided good boats, well fitted with proper hands, and will be ready at all times,
wind and weather permitting, to go to Smith's Ferry, on Staten Island with a single man only. N.B.-Travelers are
directed to observe in going from Flatbush to Sand Ferry, to keep the marked trees at the right hand." Reprinted in
Valentine's Manual, 1855, p. 571, from an old newspaper of 1753.
NECK, THE. Tottenville
is sometimes referred to as being on " the Neck."
NECK OR LONG NECK CREEK.
The branch of Main Creek into which Willow Brook flows. Map, 1797. Adv. State Tax Sale, Dec., 1890. Smith, 1836,
calls it " Beck Creek."
NEDDIE WARD'S OR WARE'S HILL.
Close to and nothwest of Pleasant Plains railroad station and traversed by the Rossville
or Bloomingdale Road.
NEVER FAIL POINT. The
extreme point of Karle's Neck where Main and Richmond Creeks meet. It is called Never Fail Point because the oysters
planted in its vicinity are always good.
NEW BLAZING STAR FERRY.
On Long Neck, where the present Linoleumville is situated. Bayles, pp. 192, 682, 684. Map, 1797. (See Philadelphia
Turnpike). The " New Ferry " is shown by Eddy, 1812. " Ferry at Blazing Star. Francis B. Fitch respectfully informs
the Public that he has once more started the above Ferry, for which he has built a first-rate Scow, and as soon as
the traveling will warrant, he intends adding a Horse-Boat, and no exertion or expense on his part will be wanting
to secure public patronage. The Turnpike to Quarantine (it being only seven miles) is now in complete order, as also
the Turnpike to New Brunswick, twelve miles. The road to Rahway, Milton, Westfield, etc., is also in good repair.
Blazing Star, Nov. 24th, 1827." Adv. in Richmond Republican, Nov. 24, 1827. Under the colonial government, Richmond
County was divided in March, 1688, into Castletown, Northfield, Southfield, and Westfield. Under the State
government, act of March 7th, 1788, these divisions were again made and their boundaries fixed. The town of
Middle-town was not organized until 1860. As might be supposed, portions of the boundaries of the original four
towns were fixed by some of the old roads. Thus, on the map of 1797 the west boundary of Castletown (now the west
boundary of Castleton and Middletown) is shown as a single road leading from the present Watchogue Road to the
Richmond Road, and is described as leading to Houghwout's Mill, and " as it runs along by Richard Conners to the
Tavern called the Rose and Crown, on the said Road leading to RichmondTown." This single road, which extends in a
general way north and south, has received different sectional names. Thus, the part from the Watchogue Road to
Willow Brook is known as the Willow Brook Road (Beers, 1874); the following southeasterly stretch as the Summer
Field Road (Beers, 1874); then the southwesterly stretch as the Manor Road, and then the following southeasterly
stretch as the Saw Mill, Conner or Egbertville Road. This naming has come about by the opening of new roads that are
direct continuations of parts of the old zigzag highway, leaving it as a whole, a short cut to nowhere.
NEW CREEK. At South
Beach. Many years ago a creek emptied near the Narrows following nearly, if not the same course as the present Old
Town or Pole Creek. The mouth of this old creek became closed and New Creek was opened-hence the name. This must
have happened previous to the making of the map in 1797. Not many years ago, the Boulevard was built a little np
from the high tide mark and New Creek was bridged, but in many places owing to the washing away of the shore only a
trace of the road remains. New Creek is very erratic as regards at least a portion of its course, and for many years
previous to the winter of 1883-4 emptied a considerable distance to the southwest of its present mouth. There was a
point formed which each year grew longer, until at last the stream flowed so slowly that in the winter mentioned it
froze, and the up-land became flooded. When spring came the water broke through straight to the ocean, ,and now
another point is being slowly formed. In 1797 the creek is portrayed as emptying straight to the ocean, without any
accompanying point, but on the maps of 1850, 1859 and 1872 the point is shown.
NEW CREEK SHOAL. Near
the mouth of New Creek.
NEW DORP PLAINS. The
level country about New Dorp Lane. Higginson, 1860. Report Staten Is. Imp. Com., pp. 74, 79. Stateen Islander, Feb'y
NEW LOTS AT THE OLD TOWN.
Mentioned in the survey for Abraham Lutine, Land Papers, 1685. At least a part of the New Lots extended along the
present Richmond Road, adjacent to where it is joined by the Old Town Road.
NEW PARIS OR FRENCH TOWN.
Nickname given to Grant City because so many French families reside there. This place has
been misnamed Grand City on the railroad time tables for the past few years. There was a sign near the railroad
track several years ago that read " Grand City." In Beer's Atlas, Grant City is also called Ocean View. This is,
however, an error, Ocean View being the name of adjacent property.
NEW ROAD. An extension
of the Willow Brook Road, by which name it is generally known.
NEW ROAD. An old name
for the Harbor Road, Mariners' Harbor.
NEW SPRINGVILLE BROOK.
Rises near the corner of the old Saw-Mill or Conner Road and the Manor Road, and flows across Jones' or Rockland
Road through New Springville into Dock Creek. This brook once turned a mill wheel in New Springville village.
NEW SPRINGVILLE SPRING.
In New Springville village.
NEW-BERRY VILLE. Near
Concord and traversed by the track of the Staten Island Railroad. Map of New-Berry Ville filed June 3d, 1853 (No.
113), showing Military Parade Ground and Columbian Park as portions of the property.
NEWTON. The present
Giffords. Dripps, 1850. Higginson, 1860.
NEWTON'S CREEK. Empties
into the Kill Van Kull between Bowman's and DeHart's Points. Many years ago a man by the name of Newton widened this
creek so that he might get boats up to his ketchup and pickle preserving establishment, situated near the Shore
NIEUWE DORP OR NEW TOWN.
The original New Dorp was located at the foot of New Dorp Lane, near the shore. Its
position, as well as that of Old Town, is shown on the oldest maps of the Island. Bayles, p. 87.
NIGGER-HEAD ROCK. A
large boulder at the foot of the bluff at Light House Hill, Prince's Bay, and known as a land mark among fishermen.
NOOK, THE. Angle formed
by the meeting of Quin and Harrison Streets, Stapleton.
NORTH SIDE OR NORTH SHORE.
North side of the Island. Letters remaining in the North Shore Post Office, J. J. Clute, post-master, are advertised
in the Staaten Islander, Jan. 10th, 1857. The North Shore post office was situated, at least for a time, in the
brick building on the north side of Richmond Terrace, close to the present West New Brighton railroad station. West
New Brighton post office is first mentioned in the N. Y. State Manual for 1871.
OAKLANDS. At New York
Avenue, Tompkins Avenue and the Finger Board Road. " Clifton Avenue or Finger Board Road " is shown on the map filed
Dec. 21st, 1857.
OAKLEY'S CREEK. A small
creek on the easterly side of Smoking Point.
OCEAN HILL. The highest
part of Staten Island along which Ocean Terrace Road runs. Map in Bayles' History.
OCEAN TERRACE. The high
land between the Clove Valley and the Richmond Road along which the Ocean Terrace now runs. Map of property on `
Ocean Terrace' filed 19th September, 1860. No. 181. (See Ocean Hill.)
OCEAN VIEW. On the
Richmond Road near Grant City. The Samuel Barton farm. An Ocean View of later date, is at Giffords.
OCEAN VILLE. At New Dorp Lane. Map filed April 19th, 1853. OCEANA. At New Dorp Lane, near the shore. Dripps, 1850. Higginson,
OLD BLUE-BENT FIELD.
The public school building on Andros Avenue, Mariners' Harbor, stands on part of the Old Blue-Bent Field. The name
was applied to a tract of sandy land where the blue-bent or beard-grass (Andropogon) still grows in abundance, and
where the Indians lived in old time, as evinced by their implements still to be found in the field.
OLD BURYING HILL ROAD.
At Travisville. Extends from Cannon Avenue past what is now Sylvan Cemetery, to the Turnpike.
THE OLD COMP. The name applied in a general way to the country lying between Kreischerville and the Amboy Road.
OLD FRESH KILLS BRIDGE.
Also known as Plank Road Bridge, Draw Bridge (Walling, 1859), Garretson's Bridge and Long Bridge. In December, 1856,
an advertisement appeared in the Staaten Islander, stating that " the bridges and the causeway over the Fresh Kills
Creek and Meadows from the Fresh Kills to DePuy's Corner at Springville " would be sold at public auction on the
20th of the month. In the issue of Dec. 31st, 1856, under the heading of " That Bridge," appears the following: "
The Pt. Richmond and Fresh Kills Plank Road Bridge, which was recently offered to the county for $2,000, has been
sold at auction to Mr. Jacob Garretson, for six hundred and one dollars." Mr. Jacob C. Garretson subsequently
offered (Staaten Islander, Jan. 3d, 1856) to place the bridge and causeways leading thereto in good condition,
provided the towns of Northfield and Westfield would each pay $633.33. (See Church Road and Garretson's Road.) The
County has recently had a new bridge built on the site of the old-one.
OLD ORCHARD SHOAL. The
Old Orchard Shoal Light is situated a little over two miles southeast of Crooke's Point. Chart. U. S. Coast and
Geodetic Survey. .(See Great Kill Shoal.)
OLD PLACE BROOK. Rises
near Quail Hill on the Old Place Road and flows across South Avenue into Old Place Creek.
OLD PLACE OR TUNISSEN'S CREEK.
Old Place Creek is shown on recent maps. Sometimes called " Tunis Creek " by fishermen, &c. Tunissen's Creek is
mentioned in Richmond Republican, April 25th, 1829; in the Statten Islander, September 19th, 1857, and in an old
deed of 1687, recorded in Richmond, Liber B, p. 95.
OLD PLACE. Situated in
Northfield, on what was once called Tunissen's Neck, between Tunissen's or Old Place Creek and Bridge Creek. The
name arose in this way: Religious services were once held in a house along the road, but the structure becoming
dilapidated a new place was selected, which, however proved to be less convenient, so the earlier building was
repaired and services were resumed at. the "old place." Old Place, or more properly that portion of it now known as
Summerville, was once called Skunk Town. Fortune Crocheron. who had been a slave, made a business of catching skunks
and extracting the grease, which was sold as a cure for croup. After his death, the place gradually lost this name.
OLD PLACE ROAD. Leads
from Graniteville to Old Place. Now sometimes called Washington Avenue.
OLD QUARRY ROAD.
Leading from the quarry on Quarry Hill, Graniteville, to the shore. Shown by Dripps, 1850, and Walling, 1859.
OLD TOWN OR POLE CREEK.
Northeast branch of New Creek. The brook which is the head waters of this creek, rises near Sand Lane at the Old
Town, and flows parallel to South Beach.
OLD TOWN POND. A small
pond on the north side of the Old. Town Road near the railroad track. Proceedings Nat. Sci. Association, Vol. IV.,
ORCHARD, THE. A district of West New Brighton traversed by Barker Street. It was probably the site of Gov. Dongan's orchard.
The hill side (See Cork Hill) occupied by Gov. Tompkins' orchard, was known by the same name.
OUDE DORP OR OLD TOWN.
The present Old Town Road leads from the Richmond Road toward the beach, where the original Oude Dorp was situated.
Dankers & Sluyter state that this settlement consisted of seven houses in 1676. Bayles, pp. 64, 8T. Clute, p. 16.
OWL'S HOLLOW. Crossed by the Fresh Kills Road about one half mile west of Green Ridge. Moore's Brook flows through Owl's
Hollow into Wagner's Creek.
OYSTER BANKS. West of Robbin's Reef, between Cavan's Point and Constable's Point, N. J. Bew, 1781, shows " Oyster Bay and
Banks," and Des Barres, 1777, shows " Oyster Banks."
OYSTER BEDS. Same as
Middle Ground and Round Shoal. Smith, 1836.
OYSTER CREEK. " Petition of Hans Lawrence of the county of Richmond, praying a warrant for a survey of a piece of land on
Staten Island, containing about 40 acres; together with a small island of meadow, of about 2 acres, lying at the
mouth of Oyster Creek, for which he has a patent." Not dated, but placed in 1697 of the Land Papers.
OYSTER ISLAND. In Great
Kill. Shown but not named on Chart, U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey. Named on Dripp's Map, 1872.
OYSTER OR DEEP CREEK. A
north branch of Old Place Creek, that reaches nearly to Bridge or Lawrence Creek. Oyster Creek is mentioned in
advertisement State Tax Sale, 1895.
PALMER'S RUN. The brook
forming the boundary line between Castleton and Northfield, and named after John Palmer. Land Papers,1680.
PARADISE OR THE GARDEN OF EDEN.
Where Tompkins Avenue crosses Richmond Avenue, Clifton.
PARK, THE. A local name
including the dwellings facing Port Richmond Park.
PARKER AVENUE. An old
name for Davis Avenue. Given by Walling, 1859. Shawmut Avenue was a proposed name for Davis Avenue. (Beers, 1874.)
PAVILION HILL. The same
as Mount Tompkins. A great Sunday resort thirty or forty years ago. Called " Mount Pavilion " in N. Y. Herald of
1835. Blood, 1845. Now occasionally called Cow Hill.
Southwest of the railroad trestle near Western Avenue. It is a point of higher land in the meadow. Peggy's Point is
named after Judge David Mersereau's sister who married a Post. Judge Mersereau was prominent on the Island during
the first part of this century. A man by the name of Page bought Peggy's Point and the surrounding meadows, and when
he became old and decrepit he deeded the land to his relatives in consideration that they take care of him for the
remainder of his days. Their care taking, however, according to the neighbors, was of a very poor quality, and the
old man finally died in the wood shed.
PERINE'S CREEK. A north
branch of New Creek. The brook from Van Wagenen's Pond, or Woodside Lake, flows into this creek.
PETER'S CREEK. Branch
of Main, and next creek southwest of Flowk Creek. Named after Peter Du Puy. " Peter Dupuy's Creek " is mentioned in
Richmond Republican, January 24th, 1829.
PETTICOAT LANE. Jones'
Road or Rockland Avenue, in Northfield. Jones' Road once joined that part of the Willow Brook Road known as the New
Road, much further to the north than it does at present, coming out near what is now the poor house farm.
PHENIXVILLE. A name for
Bull's Head. Beers, 1874. Clute, p. 231.
Report Staten Island Improvement Commission, p. 73. Same as Richmond Turnpike, which was once the post and stage
road to Philadelphia. That portion of the Turnpike, from its present junction with the Little Clove Road to the head
of what is now known as Jewett Avenue, is represented on the map of 1797. The remainder of the road, both to the
east and west of this section, was laid out in 1815 and 1816 by the " Richmond Turnpike Company," as appears from
the following, copied from the session laws of 1815, act of March 31st, page 119. " Be it enacted &c. that all such
persons as shall associate themselves together for the purpose of making a good and sufficient turnpike road in the
most direct and practical route from a point on the easterly side of Staten Island within one mile of the marine
hospital or Quarantine Ground in the County of Richmond to the westerly shore of said Staten Island at such point on
the said westerly shore as may be in the most direct line from the place of beginning to the City of New Brunswick
in the State of New Jersey, and a branch of said road in the most direct route to Amboy Ferry shall be and hereby
are created a body corporate and politic by the name and style of Richmond Turnpike Company." The Session laws of
1817, page 17, Dec. 1, declares that it shall not be necessary for the Richmond Turnpike Co. to make a branch to
Amboy Ferry from the road already completed by them leading from the Bay of New York to the New Blazing Star Ferry
and they are thereby released from the same. The New Blazing Star Road is shown on map finished Oct. 12th, 1793, and
filed Feb'y 7th, 1852. No. 89. The Turnpike was sometimes called the Governor's Road, that is, Gov. Tompkins' Road,
because he was instrumental in having it laid out.
PIG ALLEY. First
Street, New Brighton. Also called Lovers' Lane. Honeymoon Row (the name needs no explanation) extends along the
south side of this endearing little street.
PINE TREE SWAMP. Near
Lambert's Lane, Watchogue, and north of Hilleker's Swamp. Also known as Magnolia Swamp. Pine Tree Swamp is mentioned
in the Richmond Republican, March 18th, 1831.
PINES, THE. A local name for a pine grove along the railroad track between Richmond Valley and Tottenville.
PLAINS, THE. A local
name for Pleasant Plains, Westfield.
Commences near the head of Vanderbilt Avenue, where it joins the Richmond Road, and extends up the hill toward the
POINT NO POINT. On Long
Neck near Island Creek and nearly opposite the mouth of Peter's Creek. When viewed from a distance there appears to
be a considerable point at this part of Main Creek, but upon a nearer approach the point is not apparent. This is
due to the gradual bend of the shore, which leads the boatman in a wide curve about what is in consequence named
Point No Point.
POLE HILL. Near Grimes'
Hill. Now known as " Morning Side."
POLLY FOUNTAIN'S OR JACOBSON'S BAR.
Just outside of the Narrows. The Jacobson and Fountain farms were at the Narrows and lay side by side. The bar is
also occasionally spoken of as Keteltas', after the old Keteltas farm, that extended to the South Beach at the Old
Town Road. Beers, 1874.
POMONA GROVE. At Grove Avenue, Port Richmond. Map Bled Nov. 19th, 1869.
POMPEY'S KNOLL. A sand
dune, close to the Sound, between Cannon's or Landing Creek and Chelsea. Pompey was a darkey and lived on this knoll
many years ago.
POND ROAD. The present
Jewett or Division Avenue. Beers, 1874. Bayles, p. 5.
POPPY JOE'S ISLAND. A
meadow island covered with cedar trees, between Barnes' Creek and South Beach. This name is used in old deeds. The
sandy beach is approaching this island quite rapidly. In the Richmond Republican, June 19th, 1830, the following
mention is made of " Poppy Joe's Island, which formerly did belong to Thomas Walton, deceased, and the said Thomas
Walton did convey the same to Isaac Cubberly, of Staten Island, deceased, and the said deceased Isaac Cubberly, did
bequeath the same in his last will and testament to his son Isaac Cubberly, his heirs and assigns for ever, which
said tract of land and salt meadow lying on the south side of the said Island, and fronting the beach or strand, and
begins on the north side of the said tract of land and meadows, by a creek called the New Creek. * * * " Poppy Goes
Island " is depicted on an old map of which the following is the title: " At the Request of Dr. Nicholas Lozier I
have Surveyed All His Lands and Meadows now in his Possession And Find the Contents to Amount of 141 Acres of Land
and Meadows as p. Mapp. Surveyed Jan'y 12th, 1793, by Bernard Sprong."
POVERTY HOLLOW. A
hollow at Clifton into which Maryland and St. John's Avenues lead.
POVERTY LANE. The road " from Springville to Richmond." Beers, 1874. New Springville Road. This is one of the old roads and is
on the map of 1797.
PRALL'S CREEK. The
south arm or branch of Peter's Creek.
PRALL'S RIVER. The arm
of the Sound between Dongan's Island and Staten Island. Advertisement State Tax Sale, 1895.
PRICE'S ISLAND. A
hummock of land in the salt meadow south of Travisville on Long Neck. E. Price is given as a resident by Dripps,
PRINCE'S BAY. On Faden's map, 1779. On map, 1797, and later maps. The name is given " Princess Bay " on chart, U. S. Coast and
Geodetic Survey, and on the map in Bayles' History, which was copied therefrom.
PROSPECT HILL. At the
corner of Bay and Prospect Streets, Stapleton. On Blood's map, 1845. Now removed.
PROSPECT SQUARE. At
Stone Street and the Richmond Road, Middletown.
PYSE CREEK. "
Communication of Stephen Hesiott to the governor in relation to a certain piece or parcel of land on Staten Island,
at the head of Pyse Creek, next adjoining to Peter Johnson and Wm. Johnson's lots." Not dated but placed in the Land
Papers between Jan. and March, 1684.
QUALITY HILL. An old nickname for Fort Hill, applied to it by the residents of Thrifty Valley. Dutch Hill is a more recent
Avenue, New Brighton, passes through what was once the Quarantine of the port of New York, established on Staten
Island in 1799. Blood, 1845. Dripps, 1850. The Lazaretto of Eddy, 1812. (See Philadelphia Turnpike.) The Richmond
Republican, for March 29, 1828, contains the following advertisement: " Quarantine and Richmond Stage. The public is
respectfully informed that .~ Stage will commence running to and from the Quarantine ground and Richmond, on
Saturday, the 29th of March inst., and will leave Richmond every morning at half past 6 o'clock, so as to take the
Steam Boat for New York at 8. And will leave the Quarantine, for Richmond, every afternoon on the arrival of the
Boat from New York, until further notice. Good Stages and horses and a careful driver have been procured. Fare each
way 371 cts., intermediate distances, 6 cts. per mile.
J. FOUNTAIN, Proprietors."
The steamboat landing at Tompkinsville was often called Quarantine Landing.
QUARRY HILL. The trap
rock quarry, known as the Upper Quarry, near Graniteville, is on this hill. Bayles, p. 433. Dripps, 1850. Walling,
Northwest of the Swamp and near Vanderbilt Avenue. Now drained.
Several small houses on Minthorne Street, Tompkinsville, received this nickname many years ago. The corner one was
occupied by Thomas Clark and in consequence of its position was known as Clark's Point.
RALPH'S ISLAND. The
following is from the Richmond County Mirror of 1838: " Executors Sale. James Bodine Sen'r deceased. * * * * Also
two lots of salt meadow, No. 1 containing 10 acres, situated in the town of Northfield in said county at a place
called the Old Place;' bounded south by Tunison's Creek, on the west by meadow of Wm. Blake, on the north by upland
of Mrs. Prior, and on the east by meadow of Jacob Bodine, conveniently situated and of a good quality. No. 2
containing 4 acres, situate as aforesaid, being on the opposite side of the said creek, and nearly surrounded by
water-called Ralph's Island.' " This meadow-island lies south of Mr. Kinsey's residence on the Old Place Road, and
is no longer surrounded by the creek, which has changed its course. It is, however, still a meadow-island, as the
former bed of the creek is not entirely filled up, but supports a rank growth of water-loving vegetation, that in
summer encircles this small piece of meadow.
RARITAN BAY. At the mouth of Raritan River. Chart, U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey. Map in Bayles' History.
RED BANK. The bluff at
Prince's Bay. Colton, 1846. Dripps, 1850. Walling, 1859. Dripps, 1872. Map in Bayles' History.
RED LAKE. Between the
Morning Star Road and Simonson Avenue, Port Richmond. The pond was formed in the depression made by excavating clay
for the Northfield brick works. These works were abandoned some years ago and the pond has lately been drained.
RED LANE. Lincoln
Avenue or First Avenue, Grant City, Southfield. Probably owes its name to the fact that much oxide of iron is
contained in the soil which gives the road a red color.
REDOUBT HILL OR MOUNT TOMPKINS.
The prominent hill back of Tompkinsville, on which British earthworks were located during the Revolution, the
remains of one of which are still to be seen. " The Pavilion at Mount Tompkins " is mentioned in advertisement by
Caleb T. Ward in Richmond Republican, March 1st, 1828. Mount Tompkins is mentioned in the Staaten Islander, June
11th, 1856. Redoubt Hill is mentioned in the Staten Island Star; Dec. 14, 1895.
REED'S BASKET-WILLOW SWAMP.
In the hills, near the Richmond Road at Garretsons. The Reeds, father and son, were basket makers; they grew willows
in this swamp and resided in a small house on its margin. In a fit of despondency, after having parted with his
property, the younger Reed burned the house to the ground.
REED'S VALLEY. A fork
of Mersereau's Valley. It contains a brook which joins the one that flows from the hermit's spring. (See Reed's
RESERVOIR OR BARRETT'S POND.
Back of the Dye Works on Cherry Lane, West New Brighton. Beers, 1874.
RICHMOND CREEK. East
branch of Fresh Kills. Karle's Neck Creek or Micheau's Creek are old names for this.
RICHMOND HILL. North of
Richmond village. Shown by Dripps, 1850. Mentioned in Simcoe's Military Journal and the Statten Islander, February
28th, 1857. Also called Latourette's Hill.
RICHMOND OR SAW MILL BROOK.
Flows through the ravine at Egbertville and empties into Richmond Creek near St. Andrew's church. The Blood Root
Valley branch rises near the highest point (Dongan Knoll), and the west branch rises in the Mills Dale.
RICHMOND PARK. On the
Richmond Road between Egbertville and Richmond. Dripps, 1872.
RICHMOND PLANK ROAD FROM VANDERBILT'S LANDING TO ROSSVILLE.
Map of the Richmond Plank Road from Vanderbilt's Landing to Rossville, 10.297 miles, J. B. Bacon, Surveyor, Staten
Island," 1853. Filed 30th June, 1853, No. 114. The roads leading into this highway are the following, the names in
parenthesis being additional to those given on the above mentioned map: Shore Road. (Bay Street. Beers, 1874.) Old
Richmond Road. Clove Road. Fingerboard Road. Old Town Road. Castleton Road. (Four Corners Road. Beers, 1874.) New
Dorp Lane. Amboy Road. Manor Road. (Saw-Mill, corner of Egbertville Road.) Gifford's Lane. Port Richmond Plank Road.
(Seaside Avenue. Beers, 1874.) South Side Road. (Annadale Road.) Road to South Side. (Journeay Avenue. Beers, 1874.)
Washington Avenue. Killi-fish Road. (Swain's, or Laforge's Lane.) Woodrow Road. (Shea's Lane, road to Woodrow, &c.)
On several maps filed in 1843 and 1854, appears the " Richmond Plank Road," the " Plank Road from 'Vanderbilt's
Landing," or the " Richmond Plank Road to Vanderbilt's Landing." In the Stateen Islander of Jan. 23d, 1856, it is
stated that the Richmond Plank Road Company has paid 14 percent., and is now paying a dividend of 20 per cent.
RICHMOND STREET. An old
name for St. Paul's Avenue, Tompkinsville. Blood, 1845. (See Mud Lane.)
ROBBINS' CORNERS. At
New Springville, where the Stone Road meets Poverty Lane. The residence of Nathaniel Robbins, a notorious character
during the War of the Revolution.
ROBBIN'S OR WINANT'S POINT.
At the mouth of Dock Creek and southeast of Freeman Winant's Swamp. Capt. Nathaniel Robbins was a notorious
individual who resided many years ago in New Springville and after whom Robbins' Corner was named. He rendered
considerable assistance to the British quartered on the Island during the Revolution. Clute, p. 114.
ROBYN'S RIFT. " A reef
in the bay at the mouth of the Kill Van Kull was once frequented by seals, to which the Dutch gave the name Robyn;
hence the name ` Robyn's Rift,' which has, by careless usage, become 'Robbin's Reef'." Bayles, p. 3, 681. Chart U.
S. Coast and Geodetic Survey, Bay and Harbor of New York.
ROCKY HOLLOW. The hollow back of Stapleton through which the old Richmond Road runs. It is below Signal or Grimes' Hill.
Bayles, p. 307. Rept. Staten Is. Imp. Corn., pp. 45, 82, 89.
ROGUERY HILL. A murder
was once committed on a small elevation over which the Finger Board Road passes, and which from that circumstance
received the name of Roguery Hill, and the road became known as the Roguery Hill Road, until the guide post, showing
the road to Richmond, was erected, when it received its present . name. Clute, p. 232.
ROGUERY HILL ROAD. An
old name for the Finger Board Road. Clute, p. 232.
ROSS' COVE. The bend in
the shore at Rossville near the old Ross (now Lyon) homestead. Winant's or Ross' Brook flows into this Cove.
ROSS' OR WINANT'S BROOK.
Rises between Shea's and Winant's Lanes and flows into Ross' Cove at Rossville.
ROUND SHOAL. A name for
Middle Ground, or at least its upper portion. Chart Ti. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey.
SAILOR'S HILL. A long
sand hill on the southerly side of Decker Avenue (a name for the western end of Merrill Avenue) near Chelsea Road
and Saw Mill Creek. The hill received its name from the circumstance that a sailor was buried there many years ago.
SALT POND. Close to
Light House Hill, at Prince's Bay. So called because the tide flows into it. It has of late years become a marsh.
SAND BAY. Near the Fort
at the Narrows. " Warrant to the attorney general to prepare letters patent for John Belue and John Dove of Staten
Island, to keep a ferry at a place called the Sand Bay to run from thence to New York, Long Island and other
adjacent places. " Land Papers, 1731. (See Dove and Belue's Ferry.)
SAND RIDGES. West of
Beach Avenue at Richmond Valley, Westfield. These ridges were occupied by the Indians in old time, and at present a
number of interesting hybrid oaks grow in the adjacent low-land known as Decker's Swamp.
SAND ROAD. An old name
for Van Pelt Avenue, Mariners' Harbor.
SANDY BROOK. Rises to the northeast of Wood Row Road and empties into Lemon Creek. Named on Map, 1797.
SANDY GROUND. Applied
to what is now Rossville and its vicinity.
SANDY LEER. Apparently
an old name for this, is the Flag Pond, but of late years it has been called Sandy Leer, because an individual by
that name once lived on Simonson Avenue, and the pond was back of his garden.
SAW MILL OR COINER ROAD.
Old names for the road commencing at the corner of Rockland Avenue and the Manor Road, and
extending to the Richmond Road, at Egbertville, and now sometimes called the Egbertville Road. (See Manor Road.) The
saw mill was located on Saw Mill Brook, and was operated by Richard Conner, whose residence stood near by. This road
is shown but not named on map, 1797. The original town of Castleton was bounded by the " road leading to Haughwout's
Mill," (Bayles, p. 326) which is evidently this and a part of the present Willow Brook and Manor Roads. This and the
later constructed Jones' Road (Rockland Avenue) takenas one, is called Richmond Road, by Higginson, 1860. " Connor
Avenue " is mentioned in advertisement State Tax Sale, 1895.
SAW MILL OR MAGGIE MERRILL'S CREEK.
North of Chelsea. One of its branches crosses the Watchogue Road. A saw mill was formerly located on this creek.
SAW MILL POND. Near
Egbertville. Both mill and artificial pond are gone.
SCHAEFER'S HILL. The
steep ascent at the top of Targee Street, Stapleton. A recent name.
SCHUTTER'S, SHUTTOR'S, SHUTER'S, SUTER'S OR SHOOTER'S
ISLAND. Opposite Mariners' Harbor. Mentioned in the Land Papers, 1676. Bew,
1781. Richmond County Clerk's office, Liber B. of Deeds, p. 63. Bayles, p. 326. Clute, p. 66. Walling, 1859. Beers,
SCHUYLER'S FERRY, ELIZABETHPORT AND STATEN ISLAND FERRY.
In 1762 Adoniah Schuyler operated a ferry between Elizabethtown Point and the Island. Bayles, p. 684. In 1851 the
Elizabethport and Staten Island Ferry Co. was organized and service maintained for a period.
SEA VIEW PARK. The Sea
View Park Association owned the one half mile race course near the present New Dorp railroad station. Beers, 1874.
There was also another race course at the foot of New Dorp Lane. The old Fair Grounds.
SEA-DOG SHOAL. Situated
near the northerly end of Dongan's Island. Shown, but not named, on map 1797.
SEAL ROCKS. The name of
several drift boulders at Prince's Bay under Light House Hill, on which seals are occasionally seen in winter.
SEAMAN TOWN. A nickname
for a row of houses in Richmond Village.
SEDGE POND CREEK. First
southerly branch of Old Place Creek.
SEDGE POND. Sedge Pond
Creek extends from the Sedge Pond on the Salt Meadows to Old Place Creek.
SEGUINE'S LANDING. At
Seguine's Point, Westfield. Mentioned in advertisement in the Richmond County Mirror, Aug. 11th, 1838.
SEGUINE'S OR LIGHT HOUSE HILL.
The hill on which Prince's Bay light is located. Chart U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey.
Red Bank Light. Walling, 1859. Beers, 1874.
SEGUINE'S POINT. The
first point to the east of Prince's Bay.
SEGUINE'S POND. At the
shore, below Annadale station. This was one of the most beautiful ponds on the Island before the timber was cleared
away from its margin.
SEGUINE'S ROAD. Dripps,
1872. Same as Prince's Bay Road. Beers, 1874.
SEXTON'S POND. An
artificial extension of Boiling Spring Brook on the Sexton property, Castleton Avenue, West New Brighton.
SHANNON'S HOLE. A deep
place in the Sound between Slack's Creek and Benedict's Creek.
SHARROTT'S ROAD. Old
name for Prince's Bay Avenue (not Prince's Bay Road). Beers, 1874.
SHEA'S LANE. Still so called on the maps but efforts have been made to change the name to New York Avenue and later to
Rossville Avenue. Sometimes referred to on maps, &c., as " Road to Wood-row."
SHORE TRAIL. The Shore Road or Richmond Terrace. Said to have been an Indian trail. The road formerly ran all the way around
the shore from Mariner's Harbor to the old Tompkinsville Landing, but when the Quarantine hospitals were built, that
end of the road was closed. " Shore Road to Mersereau's Ferry " is shown on map of Simonson's property, filed June
18, 1834. No. 6.
SIGNAL HILL. An old
name for Grimes' Hill. Report Staten Island Improvement Commission, pp. 45, 82, 88, 90. The British maintained a
number of signal stations on the Island during the war of the Revolution, one of which was located on this hill.
SIGNAL HOUSE. Located at the Narrows. Bew, 1781. Also called the Look Out.
SIGNS, THE. A
mysterious black dog, as large as a horse, is said to have frequented a place called the " Signs.", Bayles, p. 147.
This locality is reported to have been at the present Signs Road, near Bull's Head.
SILENT VILLAGE. For a
number of years there were only a few small houses at the top of Davis Avenue, West New Brighton, and the settlement
received the name of the Silent Village.
SIMONSON'S BROOK. Rises
in the woods to the north of Springville Road (Poverty Lane), near the center of the Island, and flows southerly
into Simonson's Creek, a branch of Richmond Creek.
SLACK'S (SLAGHT'S) CREEK.
First Creek north of Rossville. One branch reaches the Fresh Kills Road at Valley Forge.
SMITH TERRACE. On
Boyd's Hill, Stapleton.
SMOKING POINT. The
first point southwest of Rossville. Land Papers, April 5th, 1684. So called on recent maps. " Smoaky Point " of Sew,
1781. " * * * a place called Smoker's point " is mentioned in Land Papers, 1702. " Daniel Perrine of Smoking Point "
is mentioned in a mortgage recorded at Richmond, Liber B p. 92.
Situated near the Willow Brook (Kruse) and Watchogue Roads. These are among the oldest roads on the Island. The
Soldiers' Lots are mentioned in the patent to Palmer in 1687. Bayles, pp. 115, 143. Also mentioned in the Land
Papers in connection with the petition of Samuel Blachford. (See Little Plains and Great Plain.)
SOUTH BEACH. An old
name for the sandy south shore of the Island. The name now includes the summer resort.
SOUTH BROADWAY. Beers,
1874. Garretson's Road or South Broadway, also once known as a part of the Port Richmond and Fresh Kills Plank Road,
is the road leading from New Springville to Green Ridge. Garretson's toll bridge across Richmond Creek fell into
ruins some years since: It connected Eltingville or Seaside Avenue (Plank Road, Higginson, 1860) in Westfield, with
the Church or, Port Richmond Plank Road (Stone Road) in Northfield. The Port Richmond and Fresh Kills Plank Road and
the Plank Road from Vanderbilt Landing, are shown on map of land, belonging to Obadiah Bowne, Esq., situate in
Westfield, Richmond Co., N. Y. Filed Nov. 9th, 1853. No. 128. Garretson's Road is occasionally called Bridge Avenue,
and also the Old Turnpike. (See Fresh Kills Bridge.)
SOUTH ELLIOTTVILLE. On
Bard Avenue, south of Castleton Avenue, Walling, 1859.
SOUTH SIDE OR SOUTH SHORE.
South side of the Island. South Side is named as a Post Office in the N. Y. State Manual
for 1872. In the Manual for 1873, Sea Side is mentioned in its place and is still the official name of the place.
SPEAR'S OR SPIRIT POINT.
A point of slightly raised upland projecting southwestward into the meadow near the head
of Old Place Creek. Mrs. Prior, wife of Andrew Prior, the first miller of Old Place mill, committed suicide by
jumping into the creek at this point. It is sometimes called Spirit Point.
SPLIT ROCK. A large
split rock seen at very low tide off the shore at the foot of Hannah Street, Tompkinsville.
STAATEN EYLANT. The
name given to the Island by Henry Hudson. Clute, p. 8.
STANDRING'S POND. Close
to and southeast of the Gun Factory Pond. Walling, 1859. Beers, 1874.
STATE LAND. At the
Narrows. Where the United States fortifications are now located. State Land is shown by Blood, 1845. Also at
STEEP POINT. Projects
into Staten Island Sound between Old Place Creek and Mark's Creek. Some of this point has been dug away in order to
make the Sound more navigable.
STILL HOUSE LANDING.
Named from a distillery built by Capt. Thomas Lawrence on a small wharf at the present New Brighton landing at the
foot of Jersey St. Bayles, p. 82. Director Kieft founded a brandy still on the Island in 1640, which was the first
manufactory of spirituous liquors in America.
STINKING BROOK. A
branch of Palmer's Run, that crosses the Turnpike and receives the waste of the Four Corners' brewery. At this
writing, it is remarkable for its growth of Algae and Vorticellae.
STONY BROOK SETTLEMENT.
Second on the Island, and situated near where the Amboy and Richmond Roads meet.
STONY BROOK. The brook
from which Stony Brook settlement got its name. It is the brook, now usually dry, that flows southward across the
Amboy Road toward Great Kill. (See Bridge Creek.)
STORER'S OR HUGHES' POINT.
A short distance to the north of Ellis' Point. The line fence between the Storer and
Hughes farms extends to this point. Sometimes called Story's Point.
STORY'S FLATS. Mud
fiats in the Sound between Ellis and Smoking Points. Chart U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey. These fiats should be
called Storer's after the old Staten Island family of that name who owned the upland.
STRAWBERRY ROCK. Off
the shore near the foot of Central Avenue, Tottenville. This rock received its name. from the circumstance that
strawberries once grew about it, before the shore had washed away.
SUGAR LOAF ROCK. A
prominent boulder, the shape of a sugar loaf, near the paper factory, at the corner of Prospect Street and the
Turnpike. It now occupies a cleared field, but was once surrounded by woods, and was then a point of pilgrimage for
the boys of the period.
SUMMERVILLE. A proposed name for Old Place. Clute, p. 234. Summerville is located in Beers' Atlas, at the corner of Washington
Avenue and the Harbor Road. Old Place is also shown further to the west.
SUNNY OR LOVERS' LANE.
Hamilton Avenue, New Brighton.
SWAIM'S OR LA FORGE'S LANE. Leads from Valley Forge to'the Woodrow Road. Called Killi-fish Road on " Map of
the Richmond Plank Road from Vanderbilt's Landing to Rossville."
SWAMP, THE. A local
name for the small swamp on Bard Avenue, near where the Morgan residence now stands.
SWAMP, THE OR CLIFTON PARK POND.
On the edge of the Downs, a few hundred feet to the northwest of Simonson Avenue. Clifton Park is shown by Walling,
1859. The pond still has a few trees about it and is used for skating, being more of a pond than a swamp. The Bogie
of the newspapers appeared in this pond in July, 1895, and attracted many people by its loud singing. It was
probably an escaped specimen of the ordinary " Jug-of-rum " bull-frog, that is common enough in parts of New Jersey,
but has not, so far, been reported from the Island. Goose Pond is a small pool a few feet to the west of the Swamp
and connected with it.
TANGLE-WOOD. An old name for the tangled growth of bushes, young trees and cat-brier, on the westerly side of
Bard Avenue, where it is crossed by Castleton Avenue. Part of this growth still remains on the southwest corner.
TAYLOR'S OR MORAVIAN BROOK.
Rises in the swamps north-east of the Woolsey Pond on Todt Hill and flows through the
Moravian Cemetery and the old Taylor farm into Barnes' Creek, a branch of New Creek. Report Staten Island
Improvement Com., p. 46.
TELEGRAPH, THE. Same as
Signal House and Flag Staff. Bayles, p. 241. Smith, 1836. Capt. Barnett's house is mentioned in advertisement in
Richmond Republican, Feb'y 23d, 1828, as " on the bank of the river about a half mile north of the Telegraph at Fort
Richmond, and about 20 minutes' walk from the Quarantine Ground." The Telegraph is mentioned by Thoreau in letter of
July 21st, 1843, and pictured on an old print of about the same date. " Clifton and Telegraph Stage " is advertised
in Staaten Islander during 1856 and 1857.
TEXAS. Southeast of
Ward's Point, between the Channel and Middle Ground. The water is several feet deeper than on Middle Ground. A well
known locality among fishermen, &c.
THOMAS CREEK. Flowed into Fresh Kill.
THOMPSON'S ROAD. South
Avenue, Mariners' Harbor, was once well known as, and is still occasionally called Thompson's Road. " South or
Thompson Avenue " is shown by Walling, 1859. The name South Avenue was given it in 1847 when a map of the property
was filed at Richmond.
THREE ELMS. On South
Beach, northeast of the Elm Tree Light. A locality among present-day fishermen. Two of the elms are now dead as a
result of the encroachment of the sea. The trees are said to have been planted many years ago by the elder Barnes.
THREE MUSK-RAT PONDS.
Southeast of Elliott's Pond and near Uncle Ed. Wood's Brook.
THRIFTY VALLEY. An old
name for the low ground through which Monroe and Montgomery Avenues now pass.
TIPPERARY CORNERS, NEW DUBLIN OR YOUNG IRELAND.
Nicknames for Egbertville.
TODT OR TOAD HILL.
Rises from the Richmond Road at Garretsons, the present Dongan Hills post office. It was not called Todt Hill before
the Revolution, but the name began to be used during the latter part of the war. Bayles, p. 246. Clute, pp. 8, 226.
In the Staaten Islander, for August 30th, 1856, there is an article on the origin of the name " Todt Hill." It is
there stated that in one of the early encounters between the Indians and the Dutch settlers several of the latter
were killed on the hill, which in consequence received the name of Todt or Death Hill. In the next number of the
paper a correspondent, writing from " Cockroach Alley, Snailville," declares the proper name to be " Toad Hill," and
relates this story: " In days of yore, a young man paid his ` distresses '-for so they were regarded toa young lady
who resided on the hill. In order to offend him and cause him to discontinue his unwelcome visits, she privately
dropped a toad or two-young ladies were not afraid of toads in those days-into his capacious pockets, where they
remained until they became offensive. This circumstance became known, and afterwards, whenever a youth was seen
wending his way towards the hill, his jesting friends would advise him to take care of his pockets if he was going
to Toad Hill." Map of property on " Toad Hill " filed Feby. 4th, 1857, No. 157. " Todt or Toadt Hill " is mentioned
in advertisement State Tax Sale, 1895.
TOM BELL'S ISLAND. A
wooded point projecting into the meadows between Garretson's station and the South Beach on the south-west side of
Seaview Avenue. Sometimes called Tom Bell's Woods. This wood is said to have been much frequented by foxes about
fifty years ago.
TOMPKINS' OR QUARANTINE LANDING.
The ferry landing at Tompkinsville (see Quarantine). " The Steam Boat Bolivar, Capt.
Oliver Vanderbilt, and the steam boat Nautilus, Capt. Robert Hazard, will take passengers to and from New York to
the Quarantine Dock, Nautilus Hall, Mount Pleasant Garden, Planter's Hotel, and Union Garden, Staten Island, and
start as follows: Leave Staten Island at 7 a. m., at 8 a. m., at 10 a. m., at half past 12 p. m., at half past 2, at
half past 4, and at 6 o'clock. Leave Whitehall, New York, at 8 a. in., and at 10 a. m., at half past 12 p. m., at
half past 2, at half past 4, at half past 5, and at 7 o'clock. Fare each way, 12 and a half cents." Advertisement in
Richmond Republican, June, 1828. " For Freight or Charter.-The fast-sailing Periauger, New York, of 34 tons, will
take in freight or passengers for New York or the adjacent country, on the most moderate terms. For freight or
passage apply to John Kettletas, Tompkinsville." Advertisement in Richmond Republican, December 22d, 1827. Tompkins'
and Staples' Ferry is mentioned in advertisement in New York Herald of 1835. Proceedings Nat. Sci. Association, Vol.
III., p. 60.
TOTTEN'S LANDING. At
the foot of the present Main or Totten St., Tottenville. Dripps, 1850.
TUNISSEN'S NECK. An old
name for the Neck between Old Place Creek (Tunissen's Creek) and Bridge Creek. Old Place is located on this Neck.
TURTLE POINT. Not far
from the site of the old Fresh Kills bridge.
TUSITY'S POND. At the
corner of the present Cebra and Ward Avenues, Middletown. Has been dry for many years.
TUXEDO. A nickname for
a part of New Brighton; the end of Brighton Avenue, &c. A part of the Duck Pond district.
TYSON'S CREEK. "
Petition of Obediah Holmes, for a warrant to survey and lay out a certain piece of land lying in the county of
Richmond, adjoining to the land of the petitioner, upon the head of Tyson's Creek." Land Papers, 1686.
UNCLE ED. WOOD'S BROOK.
Rises on the Wood property close to St. Paul's Church on the Amboy Road, and flows southerly to the Cove, east of
UNCLE NICK LOT. "
Subdivisions of the Uncle Nick Lot, Annadale, S. I. Property of Mrs. Anna S. Seguine."
Tottenville and the Billopp House.
UP SHORE AND DOWN SHORE.
The terms " Up Shore " (same as North Shore) and " Down Shore " (same as East Shore) were formerly in common use and
are still occasionally employed by the railroad officials. Bayles, p. 3.
UPPER OR PELTON'S COVE.
At the Bend in the Shore Road between Davis and Bement Avenues. Once known as Rolph's Cove, and during the
Revolution as Kruzer's Cove.
UPPER QUARRY SPRING. On
the side of Quarry Hill, Graniteville. Beers, 1874.
UPPER TERRACE. The
hill-side at St. Mark's Place, New Brighton.
VALLEY FORGE. On the Fresh Kills Road, between Rossville and Green Ridge. The LaForge farm lies on the westerly side of
Swaim's or LaForge's Lane, which meets the Fresh Kills Road in a pleasant little valley through which flows
Killifish Brook to the meadows. The last part of the name LaForge and the valley suggested the historic name of
Valley Forge, which thus came to be applied to a vale on Staten Island.
VALLEY OF THE IRON HILL OR MERSEREAU'S VALLEY.
There is to be found in the history of the county a pleasing anecdote of the rescue of a young lady by her lover,
Mersereau, from the hands of an unscrupulous British officer, who was quartered on the Island during the Revolution,
directly opposite the junction of the road from Garretson's station with the old Richmond Road, then called the
King's Highway, in a deep ravine, penetrating some distance into Todt Hill. This is still one of the most beautiful
spots on the Island; the hill sides are mostly wooded, a pleasant meadow with old apple trees occupies the bottom of
the valley and the perennial spring flows as in the days of the Revolution. The neighbors and local historians had
no name for this place and so the writer of this article, some years ago, called it Mersereau's Valley. Lately a
very appropriate name for this valley was discovered in the survey for Hansse Christophell, made in 1685. It is
there called the Valley of the Iron Hill, the Iron Hill being an old name for Todt Hill. (See New Lots at the Old
VAN ALLEN'S OR McCOMBER'S HILL.
The southern part of Kreischerville. The Fresh Kills Road passes over this hill.
VAN BOSKIRK'S OR FACTORY POND.
Connected with the , N. Y. Dyeing and Print Works, West New Brighton. It is now filled in
and it is proposed to lay out several streets upon the newly made land. " Mill Pond, of the N. Y. Dyeing and
Printing Establishment, formerly known as Van Boskirk's Pond," is shown on map filed March 20th, 1850, No. 70.
VAN BUSKIRK SPRING. On
the Van Buskirk farm at Garretson's Road, Northfield.
VAN TUYL'S OR VAN TYLE'S FERRY.
To the west of Comes', formerly DeHart's, ferry. " Petition of Otto Van Tyle and others, against granting Jacob de
Hart a patent for a ferry between their land and the river, and the land between high and low water mark (Staten
Island) with caveat." Land Papers, 1747.
VAN WAGENEN'S POND. An
old name for Woodside Lake.
Near the foot of Vanderbilt Avenue, Clifton. Named after Cornelius Vanderbilt. Dripps, 1850. Walling, 1859. Beers,
1874. A name in much use until recent years.
VANDERBILT'S PERIAUGER FERRY.
Plied between what is now Stapleton and New York from about 1800 to 1817. This ran in opposition to Van Duzer's
VINEGAR HILL. The
southerly slope occupied by Monroe and Montgomery Avenues, New Brighton. This was also known as " The Orchard,"
because Gov. Tompkins' apple orchard was located there. " The Orchard " is shown on Blood's map, 1845.
VREELAND'S BROOK. Rises
near Sign's Road and flows south-westerly through Vreeland's Swamp at Union or New Springville Road into Vreeland's
Creek, a branch of Dock Creek.
VREELAND'S CREEK. A
branch of Dock Creek into which Vreeland's Brook flows. Vreeland's Brook flows through this swamp into Dock Creek.
VREELAND'S SWAMP. On
both sides of Union or New Springville Road, between Crocheron's and Freeman Winant's Swamp.
VROOM CREEK. Second southerly branch of Old Place Creek. Walling, 1859. Advertisement State Tax Sale, 1895. Walling, 1859. Gun
Factory Road is mentioned in advertisement State Tax Sale, 1895.
WAPP'S PARK. A play
;ground bounded in part by Prospect, Bement and Burger Avenues, West New Brighton.
WARD'S HILL. The next
hill southeast of Pavilion.
WARD'S POINT. Near Tottenville. Still called by this name. On the map of 1797 the position of Caleb Ward's house is shown.
Shown on map of the New Brighton Association, as occupying nearly the same site as the present crescent-shaped
Hamilton Avenue. Madison Street, lying east of Jay Street, Nassau Street and Catlin Avenue, are also shown on this
map. They have never been laid out.
WASHINGTON SQUARE. The
park at Stapleton. Map filed June 5th, 1867.
WATCHOGUE, BUTCHERVILLE OR SNAKE ROAD.
Starts where the Pond Road (Jewett Avenue) meets the Turnpike and runs a serpentine course
to the Church or Stone Road. That portion from Four Corners to the Willow Brook Road is laid down on the map of 1797
and is among the oldest roads of the Island, but as far as observed is not named on the maps, though generally known
as the Watchogue or Butcherville Road. It is sometimes referred to as the Snake Road on account of its serpentine
WATCHOGUE. Situated a
mile south of Old Place. Owing to the similarity of the name Watchogue to the Long Island town of Patchogue it has
been thought that like the latter, it was of Indian origin. This, however, is a mistake, and the original name,
which was Watch Oak, was acquired in the following way: The hamlet was first called Merrill Town, owing to the
number of families of that name living in the vicinity. Among them was Isaac Merrill, who owned a large farm, a
portion of which was covered with oak timber. A man by the name of Brunsen was a neighbor of Merrill's. He was a
smart man and is said to have been most clever in defending himself in court, in which, for one reason and another,
he had considerable practice. Among other accomplishments, he could write with both hands at once, and, when he
thought no one was looking, he could steal Merrill's oak trees as well. This was known to Merrill, and when a
neighbor called one day and asked for a certain farm hand, Merrill told him he was out " watching oaks." The Merrill
farm was called in time " Watch Oak Farm "-the place where they watched the oaks. This has been corrupted into
Watchogue, and this, finally, changed to Bloomfield. According to Beers, 1874, the " Watch -Oak Road " leads from
Chelsea to Bloomfield. Clute (p. 228) maintains that this name is of Indian origin.
WATERING PLACE. The
name of a large spring that existed until thirty or forty years ago near the bluff at the southerly end of the
present railroad tunnel at Tompkinsville, where ships used to procure a supply of water before going to sea. The
name was also applied to the vicinity of this well known spring. Called " Weis " by Bellin, 1764. Clute, pp. 113,
460, 683. Bayles, pp. 85, 192, 241, 326. Map, 1797.
WATERING PLACE. The
present Tompkinsville (See Springs, Ponds and Swamps.)
WATSON'S, DUCKET'S, DARBY DOYLE'S, WM. LEAKE'S, COLE'S AND
VAN DUZER'S FERRIES. According to Faden's map of 1776, Doyle's ferry was at the
present Stapleton, at or near the Basin. Cole's ferry is often mentioned in the accounts of the Revolution. It was
at the end of the Richmond Road, at its junction with the present Bay St., and later became known as Van Duzer's
ferry. Property belonging to Edward Perine and wife is described in 1801 as: " Beginning from south side of Main
road leading from Van Duzer's Ferry to Richmond Town at the northeast corner of John Bodine's land," &c. Van Duzer's
periauger ferry seems to have been in operation from before 1788 to 1817. It is shown by Eddy, 1812. The old Van
Duzer homestead has only recently fallen into ruins. " Vanduzer's Old Landing" is shown by Dripps, 1850. Bayles, pp.
143, 185, 202, 242, 326, 683, 684.
WEIR'S MILL POND. At
Mill Creek, Tottenville. Walling, 1859.
WEST BANK. Hoffman and
Dix Islands east of South Beach are on West Bank. Chart, U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey. Bellin, 1764. Sew, 1781.
WEST QUARTER. Applied to Westfield. The towns were at one time known as West Quarter, South Quarter, North Quarter, and the
WESTERN ROAD. Leading from Holland's Hook to Old Place. This road has been known as Collyer's Road, Bowman's Road, the New
Road and the Meadow Road.
WESTERVELT'S POND. Once
situated in the low ground in Thrifty Valley through which Monroe and Madison Avenues now run. It received the
drainage of Vinegar (Cork) Hill, where the Orchard was located.
WHITE ROCK. The name of
the rock to which Isaac Decker piloted the first British soldiers, who landed on Staten Island during the
Revolution. Bayles, p. 242. The outcrop of granite on the shore, now nearly covered by the filling in for the
Tompkinsville railroad station, was called the White Rock during recent years, and it is quite likely the place
where Decker landed the soldiers.
WIDMAYER'S OR TRACK POND.
Lies close to the railroad track at Grasmere, nearly opposite to Brady's Pond.
WILLOW BROOK. Rises near the highest point of Staten Island and flows southwesterly into Main Creek.
WILLOW POND. Included
in the bend of the Finger Board Road. Five willows grow on its margin.
WINANT'S LANE. Now
known as Annadale Road. An old road; on map, 1797.
WOGLOM'S COVE. Between
Smoking and Ellis' Points on the Sound.
WOLFE'S POND. At the shore, below Prince's Bay, northeast of Seguine's Point. Wolfe's Brook flows into this pond.
WOOD POND. Lies several
hundred feet to the southwest of the Swamp. This small pond has been known by this name for at least fifty years. A
still smaller pond near by and to the west is known as the Black Pond.
WOOD ROAD. Blood, 1845.
Dripps, 1872. An old name for St. Mary's Avenue, Clifton. " Wood Road " was also used in the sense of a locality.
WOODSIDE LAKE. Near the
Finger Board Road and in wet weather connected by a brook with Brady's Pond. Beers, 1874.
WOODVAIL ROAD. Leading
from the Amboy Road to the shore. Beers, 1874. Mr. Wood owned property on one side of this road and Mr. Vail on the
other, and in laying out the highway they combined their lands and names.
WOOLSEY POND. On the old Woolsey place on Todt Hill, close to the Four Corners Road.
WRECK CREEK. On Long
Neck. Empties into Fresh Kills near Burnt Island. So called because an old wreck was once lodged there.
YELLOW ROW. A number of
squalid yellow painted houses, on the west side of Broadway, near the Dye Works, West New Brighton, were once known
as the Yellow Row.
YSERBERG OR IRON MOUNT.
" Description of a survey of 176 acres of land upon Staten Island under the Yserberg (or Iron Mount) for Louis
Lakeman by Jas. Corteljau, surveyor." Land Papers 1676.