Travis is the name of a neighborhood at the west-central edge of Staten Island. Some local
geographers classify its location as being on the island's West Shore, while others claim it is a Mid-Island
Located north of the Fresh Kills along the shoreline of the Arthur Kill, Travis is one of the most isolated and
sparsely-populated locales on Staten Island. Known at times as Long Neck and New Blazing Star Ferry, it
became the site of the USA's first linoleum factory in the 1860s, leading to its being named Linoleumville;
however, in 1930, residents overwhelmingly chose to rename the community after Colonel Jacob Travis, whose family
had resided there before the linoleum plant opened.
The western terminus of Victory Boulevard, a major thoroughfare on Staten Island, is at Travis. Established in
1816 by Daniel D. Tompkins as the Richmond Turnpike, this road was "promoted as the fastest route from New York to
Philadelphia." On this road, bus service along the Island's North Shore to the St. George Ferry Terminal is
provided by the S62 route. A ferry across the Arthur Kill linked Travis with Carteret, New Jersey. It stopped
running in 1929. However, a "people only" ferry did remain in operation until the mid 1960's.
Travis is noted throughout Staten Island for the colorful Independence Day parade held there annually. Many
members of the community's founding families are buried in Sylvan Grove Cemetery, a small, triangle-shaped burial
ground near the junction of Victory Boulevard and the West Shore Expressway, which has fallen into severe
disarray, mostly due to vandalism.
Travis has one of the last volunteer fire houses in the city, and second on Staten Island, Oceanic Engine 1.
Oceanic was formed in 1881. This makes it one of the oldest volunteer fire houses in the country. The actual fire
house itself was located on the other side of town and moved down Victory Blvd. by horse to where it resides
Even with this building boom, Travis has retained many of its characteristics that made it the last frontier on
Staten Island. Still standing is the old Tennyson's confectionery . It now is a balloon and party store, but this
once held a penny candy store that was operational for almost one hundred years. This is located across from the
Oceanic Hook and Ladder firehouse and was a popular hang out for the town locals, and firemen. Owned by "Snappy"
Ed Tennyson, called that because he moved so slow, was handed down to his son in law, Robert Minto Jr. who ran the
store just about up to his death in 1986.
Ron Spooner. Travis' own Milkman Bill Spooner (Ron's Dad) on his daily delivery route.
Oceanic H & L No 1
PS 26 kids marching in a July 4th parade
The Travis Airport was located where Glen Street met with Victory Blvd.
up until it closed in the early 1950's.
Travis hosts a July 4th parade each year which is now into its
98th year, one of the oldest in the nation